Close this search box.

FIFA set to launch 32-team Club World Cup in 2025

FIFA are set to make major changes to the Club World Cup format.

The Club World Cup has been around since 2000 and in its current format, every year, sees the winners of each confederation’s premier competitions come together with the host nation’s representative to compete for the trophy.

The first FIFA Club World Championship took place in Brazil in 2000. It ran in parallel with the Intercontinental Cup.

In 2005, the Intercontinental Cup was merged with the FIFA Club World Championship, and in 2006, the tournament was renamed as the FIFA Club World Cup. The winner of the Club World Cup receives the FIFA Club World Cup trophy and a FIFA World Champions certificate.

The current format of the tournament involves seven teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation over a period of about two weeks; the winners of that year’s AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North, Central America and Caribbean), CONMEBOL Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceania) and UEFA Champions League (Europe), along with the host nation’s national champions, participate in a straight knock-out tournament.

For the most part, it has been won by whoever wins the Champions League in that year, with Chelsea the current champions and Real Madrid expected to pick up the trophy next year.

Now though, it has been revealed on Friday that the tournament will now see 32 teams compete at the CWC from 2025.

Cardiff City vs Blackpool betting tips: Championship preview, prediction and odds

Hull City vs Sunderland betting tips: Championship preview, prediction and odds


Picture of Josh Barker

Josh Barker

Middlesbrough fan from the North East of England. @JoshBarker979 on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Content

Load More