Southampton Football Club was founded on 21 November 1885, originally as St. Mary’s YMA. The club was one of the founding members of the Premier League.


Southampton’s colours are red and white. Traditionally, the club’s home kit has red and white vertical stripes. The club’s crest features a halo, representing their nickname, the Saints.


The club’s stadium is St. Mary’s Stadium. The stadium has a capacity of 32,505 and has been Southampton’s home since 2001.


In 2005, Southampton were relegated from the Premier League, ending 27 successive seasons of top flight football. Since then, the club have yo-yoed up and down the top three tiers in England. The club was most recently promoted to the Premier League in 2012.


The club won the FA Cup in 1976 and were runners up in 1900, 1902 and 2003. Southampton also finished as runners up in the 1983-84 Division One season.


Ted Bates managed the club for 850 matches, more than any other manager. Other notable managers in recent history include Nigel Adkins, Harry Redknapp and Gordon Strachan. Redknapp controversially joined Southampton from their biggest rivals, Portsmouth in 2004. He managed the club for just one year before moving back to Portsmouth.


In the 2014-15 manager Ronald Koeman guided Southampton to their highest ever Premier League finish of 7th; just one season after Mauricio Pochettino had finished 8th with the club.


Terry Pain holds the record for the most Southampton appearances, with 815. The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Mick Channon, who scored 228 goals for the saints. Second on the list is Matt Le Tissier with 209. Other notable players to have played for the club include Alan Shearer, Graeme Le Saux and Kevin Phillips.


Southampton are known for their prestigious academy. Notable graduates include Wayne Bridge, Theo Walcott, Gareth Bale, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Calum Chambers, Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw.