All 101 Articles 101 Social

About Newcastle United

Newcastle United Football Club was founded on 9 December 1892. The club’s nickname is the Magpies.


Newcastle’s colours are black and white and their home kit has traditionally featured these colours in vertical stripes. The club’s current crest was first used in the 1988-89 season and features elements of the coat of arms of the city of Newcastle, including Norman keep and two sea horses.


The club has a strong rivalry with Sunderland. The two contest one of the Premier League’s biggest derbies, the Tyne-Wear derby.


St James’ Park has been the club’s stadium since its inception in 1892. The stadium seats 52,405 spectators and was used in the 2012 Olympics.


Newcastle first played in the Premier League in the 1993-94 season, after winning promotion the previous season. The club has won four First Division titles, although not since 1926-27. Newcastle have also won six FA Cups, a Community Shield and the UEFA Intertoto Cup.


Newcastle’s all-time leading goalscorer is Alan Sherer, who is also the Premier League’s all-time top scorer. Shearer scored 206 goals in 404 appearances for Newcastle. Scottish goalkeeper Jimmy Lawrence is the player with the most Newcastle appearances, with 496.


Other notable players to have played for the Magpies include Gary Speed, Les Ferdinand, David Ginola, Andy Cole and Paul Gascoigne, who was also a graduate of the club’s academy. Other notable graduates of the club’s youth academy include Peter Beardsley, Charles N’Zogbia, Tim Krul and Shola Ameobi.


The club’s longest serving manager in terms of matches is Joe Harvey, who took charge of 591 games. Other notable managers of the club include Kenny Dalglish, Ruud Gullit, Kevin Keegan and Sir Bobby Robson. Stan Seymour was manager of the club from 1939 to 1958 and guided Newcastle two FA Cup wins.