No penalty but an indirect free-kick?! Kagisho Dikgacoi almost decapitates David Manga in the box
- Updated: March 24, 2013
Awful refereeing decisions keep stacking up at the moment.
Saturday’s 2014 African World Cup qualifier between South Africa and the Central African Republic witnessed a strange refereeing decision after the visitors were denied a stonewall penalty in the Bafana Bafana box.
The foul itself was eye-catching.
As the Central African Republic looked to equalise the match early in the second half, Crystal Palace enforcer Kagisho Dikgacoi almost decapitated visiting forward David Manga as the South African executed a terribly timed overhead-kick in his own box which connected with his opponent’s throat.
After Manga came crashing down in the box, the referee blew his whistle, however the official’s subsequent decision made no sense at all.
Instead of pointing to the spot, Ugandan ref Ali Kalyango incredibly decided that Dikgacoi’s foul only provided the Central African Republic with an indirect free-kick in the South African box.
The decision made absolutely no sense whatsoever.
Watch how the Central African Republic were robbed of a stonewall penalty by a joke decision below.