Close this search box.

The biggest wins in Premier League history

There have been a number of mammoth scorelines throughout the history of the Premier League.

Whilst the Premier League is renowned for being a highly competitive league, there have been several occasions when a giant has simply proven too much for an underdog.

Now, 101GreatGoals have put together a list of the biggest wins in the history of the Premier League.

Manchester City 8-0 Watford (21 September 2019)

Despite Manchester City’s recent Premier League dominance and the sheer number of goals they score, they appear on this list just once.

Manchester City scored 102 goals in the 2019/20 campaign, with their biggest victory coming in September vs Watford.

David Silva opened the scoring after one minute vs the Hornets before Sergio Aguero, Riyad Mahrez, Bernardo Silva (x3), Nicolas Otamendi and Kevin De Bruyne added another seven goals.

Manchester United are the only side to appear on this list twice and were the first side in Premier League history to win by a nine-goal margin.

Roy Keane, Mark Hughes and Paul Ince all found the net that day. But the Man of the Match was most certainly Andy Cole, who netted a staggering five goals in United’s historic victory.

Southampton 0-9 Leicester City (25 October 2019)

We had to wait another 24 years for a second team to win by a nine-goal margin and it was certainly a surprise.

Leicester put nine past Southampton and are currently the only side to achieve the feet whilst playing away from home. Ayoze Perez and Jamie Vardy both netted hat-tricks against a 10-man Saints team, with the remaining goals scored by Ben Chilwell, Youri Tielemans and James Maddison.

Manchester United 9-0 Southampton (2 February 2021)

As already mentioned, Manchester United are the only team to appear on the winning side of this list twice. And unfortunately for Southampton, they are the only team to appear on the losing side on two occasions.

Just over two years after their hammering at Leicester, Ralph Hasenhuttl’s squad once again shipped nine goals. This outing saw them lose Alexandre Jankewitz to a red card after two minutes and Jan Bednarek suffered the same fate with four minutes left to play.

Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Marcus Rashford, Jan Bednarek (OG), Edinson Cavani, Anthony Martial (x2), Scott McTominay, Bruno Fernandes and Dan James netted the goals.

Liverpool 9-0 Bournemouth (27 August 2022)

The final and most recent 9-0 came in 2022 when Liverpool tore a newly-promoted Bournemouth apart.

Luis Diaz (x2), Harvey Elliott, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Roberto Firmino (x2), Virgil van Dijk, Chris Mepham (OG) and Fabio Carvalho scored the goals to hand Liverpool their biggest win in Premier League history.


Picture of Josh Barker

Josh Barker

Middlesbrough fan from the North East of England. @JoshBarker979 on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *