Close this search box.

Liverpool, Manchester United & Chelsea stars included in Golden Boy shortlist

A number of Premier League stars have been shortlisted for the 2023 Golden Boy award.

The 100-strong list of youngsters are competing for the Golden Boy award, which is a prize presented to the best Under-21 player based in Europe.

Previous winners of the Golden Boy award include Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Mario Balotelli, Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland.

The global launch of the 2023 award took place in Milan on Tuesday, with 33 different countries represented.

Established by Italian outlet Tuttosport in 2003, the trophy is based on a jury of journalists, with the shortlist gradually whittled down before revealing the victor. Barcelona’s Gavi is the current holder.

There are 12 Premier League players named in this year’s shortlist, including Alejandro Garnacho from Manchester United, Harvey Elliott and Stefan Bajcetic from Liverpool, Evan Ferguson, Facundo Buonanotte and Julio Enciso from Brighton, Wilfried Gnonto from Leeds United, Lewis Hall and Carney Chukwuemeka from Chelsea, and Máximo Perrone from Manchester City.

The last Premier League star to win the award was Raheem Sterling in 2014 for Liverpool.

West Ham interested in Manchester United & Arsenal target

Why Erik ten Hag has been ‘left fuming’ with Manchester United

Picture of Josh Barker

Josh Barker

Middlesbrough fan from the North East of England. @JoshBarker979 on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *