About Wolfsburg

VfL Wolfsburg was founded on 12 September 1945. The club is nicknamed Die Wölfe (The Wolves).


Wolfsburg’s colours are white and green, with their home kits traditionally featuring a combination of the two colours. The club’s crest is a green W.


The club plays their home matches at the Volkswagen Arena, which opened in 2002. The stadium has a capacity of 30,000 and replaced Wolfsburg’s former VFL Stadion.


Wolfsburg’s only Bundesliga title came in the 2008-09 season, when the club finished two points above Bayern Munich. In the 2014-15 season, Wolfsburg won the DFB-Pokal and finished runners-up in the Bundesliga. Wolfsburg beat Dortmund 3-1 in the Pokal final at the Olympiastadion. The club then went on to win the 2015 German Super Cup, beating Bayern Munich on penalties.


Marcel Schafer holds the club record for most Bundesliga appearances. The defender has played over 230 league matches for the club. The club’s leading Bundesliga goalscorer is Edin Dzeko, who scored 67 league goals for the club.


Notable former players of the club include Alexander Hleb, Edin, Grafite, Mario Mandzukic, Obafemi Martins and Brian McBride.


Goalkeeper Diego Benaglio captains the side which includes the likes of Luiz Gustavo, Julian Draxler, Bas Dost, Andre Schurrle and Dante.


The side is managed by Dieter Hecking, who took over as manager in January 2013. Notable former managers of the club include Steve McClaren and Felix Magath.