All 101 Articles 101 Social

About Arsenal

Arsenal Football Club was founded in 1886, originally as Dial Square. Nicknamed the Gunners, the club’s crest features a military cannon. The club’s colour is red and traditionally the home kit is red and white, while the club’s away kit is yellow.


Arsenal’s North London rivals are Tottenham Hotspur. The North London Derby is one of the biggest matches on the domestic calendar, with a fierce rivalry existing between both sets of fans. Arsenal’s other rivals are Manchester United and Chelsea.


Herbert Chapman managed the club from 1925 to 1934 and was responsible for much of Arsenal’s early success. Although he only won three trophies with the club, Chapman was a pioneer who had a massive impact on the club and football in general. Chapman is said to be one of the first modern football managers, taking full control of the side.


The club’s greatest player and all-time leading goalscorer is French World Cup winner, Thierry Henry, scored 226 goals for the Gunners. David O’leary holds the record for most appearances for the club, with 772. Statues of Henry, and other club legends, Dennis Bergkamp, Tony Adams and Herbert Chapman, stand outside the club’s stadium.


Arsenal’s greatest achievement came in the 2003-04 season, when manager Arsene Wenger guided the team to the Premier League title without losing a single match in the league season. The team became known as The Invincibles.


In 2006, Arsenal moved from Highbury, which had been their home since 1913, to their new 60,000-seater stadium. Their move to the Emirates came at a cost, however. Unable to compete financially with the likes of Chelsea and later Manchester City, coupled with constantly losing their best players, Arsenal endured an eight-season trophy doubt.


In 2014, Arsenal finally ended their trophy droubt, winning the FA Cup and the resulting Community Shield. In 2015 they completed the identical achievement, making Arsene Wenger the most successful manager (six titles) and Arsenal the most successful club (twelve titles) in the tournament’s history.