All 101 Articles 101 Social

About Aberdeen

Nicknamed the Dons, Aberdeen Football Club play their football in the Scottish Premiership. Along with Celtic, they are the only other Scottish team to have never been relegated from the country’s top division.


The club was founded in 1903 but only adopted their traditional home colours of red and white in 1939. The club’s crest also features their traditional colours and includes two stars above it, signifying the two European trophies they won in 1983, the European Cup Winners’ Cup and the European Super Cup. In the final of the Cup Winners’ Cup, Aberdeen beat Spanish giants Real Madrid 2-1. The result meant Aberdeen became the only Scottish club in history to have won two European trophies in the same season.


In addition to their European honours, Aberdeen have won numerous domestic trophies. The club have won the Scottish League on four occasions. However, due to the dominance of Rangers and Celtic in recent history, Aberdeen’s most recent League title came in 1985. Aberdeen have also won more than a dozen Scottish Cup and Scottish League Cup titles.


Since the club’s inception, the Dons have played their home matches at the Pittodrie Stadium, which has a capacity of nearly 21,000. The stadium is said to be the first football stadium to have ever featured a dugout.


Aberdeen’s all-time leading goalscorer is Joe Hoper who scored 199 times for the Dons in 300 appearances. The club’s all-time leading appearances-makers are Willie Miller and Alex McLeish with 797 and 693 appearances respectively. Other notable former players include Scotland legends, Gordon Strachan and Jim Leighton.


The club’s most notable past manager is undoubtedly Sir Alex Ferguson, who managed the club before his reign at Manchester United. Ferguson took charge of 288 games at the club, winning 10 major honours in that time. He also boasts the second highest win percentage in the club’s managerial history.