Close this search box.

Liverpool teenager included in provisional Scotland squad for Euro 2024

Steve Clark has named his provisional Scotland squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 tournament in Germany.


Head coach Steve Clark has announced Scotland’s provisional squad for Euro 2024 and there are a few surprise names included.

The Tartan Army will compete alongside Germany, Hungary and Switzerland in Group A this summer and will be hoping to progress out of the group stages for the first time in their history.

Read our other sports news stories: 
Thomas Frank makes admission about future amid Manchester United and Chelsea links
Kieran McKenna pips Pep Guardiola and Mikel Arteta to LMA award
Harry Kane ready for England duties after recovering from back injury

Uncapped Liverpool teenager Ben Doak has been included despite never playing a Premier League match for the Reds and recently returning from a knee injury.

In less surprising news, Celtic Winger James Forrest has been recalled after three years away from the international squad.

Bristol City defender Ross McCrorie is also included.

Clark has included 28 players in his provisional list but that must be reduced to 26 by 7 June.

Captain Andy Robertson is determined to make history with his team-mates this summer and he believes the Tartan Army can compete with any team in the world.

Speaking to Sky Sports, he said: “We have to be the team that creates history.

“Getting out the group has to be our aim. It’s a tough group but we believe we can give any team a game.

“If we do that and manage to get out the group, we’ll be the first Scotland team to ever do that.

“We’ve been trying to create our own history and our own story within a nation with a lot of good teams in the past and legends of the game.

“We’re aiming to create a small part of history and we’ve done that by reaching two tournaments.

“But being able to qualify outside the group would be a massive step, accelerate us further and give us more belief than we’ve already got.”

Scotland will prepare for the tournament in Germany by playing two warm-up matches against Gibraltar and Finland before they open the event against the hosts on 14 June.

Full Scotland squad

Angus Gunn (Norwich City), Zander Clark (Hearts), Craig Gordon (Hearts), Liam Kelly (Motherwell).

Defenders: Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Real Sociedad), Jack Hendry (Al Ettifaq), Ryan Porteous (Watford), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Scott McKenna (FC Copenhagen), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Greg Taylor (Celtic), John Souttar (Rangers), Anthony Ralston (Celtic), Ross McCrorie (Bristol City).

Midfielders: Callum McGregor (Celtic), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth), Billy Gilmour (Brighton & Hove Albion), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Jack (Rangers).

Forwards: Lyndon Dykes (Queen’s Park Rangers), Che Adams (Southampton), Lawrence Shankland (Hearts), Ben Doak (Liverpool), James Forrest (Celtic).

Picture of Mitch Fretton

Mitch Fretton

Mitch is a freelance sports journalist with experience working for LiveScore, GOAL and Colchester United. He has experience working from both his desk at home and in the press box at games covering the Champions League and international football.