Odegaard and Rodri are going head-to-head in the Premier League title race this season with Arsenal and Manchester City, and their rivalry appears to have spilled over onto the international stage.
Spain ran out 3-0 winners over Norway on Saturday evening in the pair’s first Euro 2024 qualifier, but the game may have been different had Odegaard been awarded a penalty for Rodri’s poor challenge.
Odegaard was left in pain as Rodri followed through late on the midfielder in the Spain 18-yard box. Odegaard let fly with a shot before Rodri flew in and took his opponent out.
No penalty was awarded despite it being a dangerous challenge and Odegaard has now responded:
Odegaard told TV2: “I’m pretty sure I should have had a penalty. He’s coming with his studs right on my ankle. “But I’m sure I’ll get punished [if I say anymore]. I don’t bother saying anything else about the referee. It’s better not to say anything.”
Norway boss Stale Solbakken also could not believe the decision from French official Benoit Bastien. The ex-Wolves manager said: “He finishes the shot and you can’t [foul him after]. If I knock someone down after the ball is gone, then it’s a penalty. I get a little bored of this.
“What I see here now [on the replay] is exactly what I saw from the bench. There was a bit of French arrogance going on. That’s the way it is, but it’s unbelievable.”