All 101 Articles 101 Social

Below are constant, live updates from Chelsea’s official Facebook, Instagram, Twitter & YouTube pages…

Chelsea Football Club was founded on 10 March 1905 in London. Chelsea are nicknamed the Blues and were one of the Premier League’s founding clubs. The club play their football at Stamford Bridge which seats 41,700 spectators. The Bridge has been the club’s home since their inception.


In July 2003, Russian billionaire Roman Abramovic became owner of the the Blues. His ownership brought about a complete overhaul at the club; with an unlimited transfer budget and soon a new manager. The self-proclaimed “Special One”, Jose Mourinho replaced Claudio Renieri as Chelsea boss in June 2004, the transfers continued, and the trophies followed.


Mourinho guided Chelsea to their first Premier League title (and first league title in half a century) in the 2004-05 season and won the League Cup in the same season. Chelsea retained their Premier Leaugue title the following season.

In 2008, Mourinho left the club and was replaced by Avram Grant. A loss in the final of the 2008-09 Champions League final would be Grant’s final match in charge but further success was not far away. Since July 2003, Chelsea have had 10 different managers at the helm. Notable managers in the pre-Abramovic era include Ted Drake, Ruud Gullit and Gianluca Vialli.


In 2011-12 Abramovic’s dream was realised when Chelsea won the UEFA Champions League, under the management of former player Robert Di Matteo. The following season Chelsea won the UEFA Europa League. In addition to their European success, Chelsea have won five League titles, seven FA Cups and five League Cups.


In June 2013, Jose Mourinho returned to Chelsea and guided them to a League and Cup double in the 2014-15 season. Under Abramovic’s ownership, Chelsea have won fifteen trophies, including five ‘doubles’.


Ron Harris holds the record for most appearances, with 795. Club captain, John Terry lies 3rd on the list. Frank Lampard is the club’s all-time leading goalscorer with 211 goals. Other notable players to have played for the club include Ashley Cole, Michael Ballack, Didier Drogba, Arjen Robben, Claude Makelele, Emmanuel Petit, Marcel Desailly and Dennis Wise.