All 101 Articles 101 Social

Below are constant updates from Ajax’s official Facebook, Twitter, Instagram & YouTube accounts.

About Ajax

Amsterdamsche Football Club Ajax, commonly known as Ajax Amsterdam, play their football in the Dutch Eredivsie and are the most successful side in Dutch football history. Ajax have never been relegated from country’s top division, a feat shared with the other two sides in the “big three”, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord.


Founded in 1900, the club’s home colours are white and red, which they have worn since 1911. Ajax’s crest features the head of the Greek hero Ajax.


The club play their home matches at the Amsterdam ArenA, which they moved into in 1996. The stadium seats 52,000 spectators and boasts a retractable roof. Before their move to the Amsterdam ArenA, the club’s home stadium had been De Meer Stadion since 1934.


Ajax are famed for producing some of Europe’s finest young talent. Notable academy graduates include Dutch internationals Johan Cruyff, Frank Rijkaard, Dennis Bergkamp, Edgar Davids and Clarence Seedorf, to name just a few. Other notable players to have played for the club include Michael Laudrup, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Marc Overmars, Nwankwo Kanu and Luis Suarez.


Ajax have won over 50 domestic titles, including more than 30 League titles. The club has also won the European Cup on four occasions, adding to their six other international titles. Their most recent European Cup win came in 1995 when they defeated AC Milan 1-0 in Vienna.


The club’s most influential figure is Dutch legend Johan Cruyff, who, as a captain and manager of the club, instilled his own unique style of play and footballing philosophy into Ajax. Cruyff is also Ajax’s second highest leading goal scorer of all time, with 271 goals, two behind Piet van Reenen. Cruyff’s jersey number 14 has been retired by the club in his honour. Sjaak Swart holds the record for most club appearances with 463.


Ajax’s most successful managers in recent history are Louis van Gaal and former player Frank de Boer. Van Gaal won eight trophies during his tenure, including the UEFA Champions League while Frank de Boer won four consecutive League titles from 2011 to 2014.