Close this search box.

Which team has conceded the fewest goals in a Premier League season?

There have been some truly impressive defensive records in the Premier League over the years.

Sir Alex Ferguson once said, “Attack wins you matches but defence wins you titles.”

And the former Manchester United boss certainly has a point. The majority of Premier League titles have been won by the side with the best defence.

But which team has the best defensive record in the history of the Premier League?

5: Liverpool – 25 goals (2005/06)

Whilst a good defence is crucial to Premier League success, Liverpool actually did not win the league in 2005/06. They conceded just 25 goals and Pepe Reina was able to keep a staggering 20 clean sheets.

The Reds finished 3rd in the table, with 1st place going to another side on this list.

2005/06 was certainly the season for rock-solid defences. Jose Mourinho’s Blues had already garnered a reputation as one of the best defensive sides in Europe from the campaign prior and they lived up to that name in 2005/06.

Just 22 goals were let in by Petr Cech, who did not win the Golden Glove, but instead helped the west Londoners lift their second Premier League title.

3: Manchester United – 22 goals (2007/08)

Despite the aforementioned quote from Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester United appear on this list only once.

Manchester United won the 2007/08 Premier League title thanks to their superb defensive record, besting Chelsea who conceded a still impressive 26. Edwin van der Sar kept 14 clean sheets that campaign – four fewer than Golden Glove winner, Pepe Reina.

2: Arsenal – 17 goals (1998/99)

Arsenal’s only mention on this list came back in 1998/99 but is nevertheless very impressive.

The Gunners shipped just 17 goals across that campaign, with David Seaman notching 19 clean sheets. However, Arsenal still only finished second in 1998/99, being pipped to the title by a single point by Manchester United.

1: Chelsea – 15 goals (2004/05)

After making a name for himself in Portugal, Jose Mourinho’s first season in the Premier League is one that will live long in the record books.

Chelsea won their first Premier League title in 2004/05, all whilst conceding just 15 goals in 38 matches, a simply astonishing record that will likely never be beaten.


Picture of Josh Barker

Josh Barker

Middlesbrough fan from the North East of England. @JoshBarker979 on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *