Close this search box.

Euro 2024: Belgium squad announced with one HUGE name left out

Belgium have announced their provisional squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 tournament in Germany.

Euro 2024

Thibaut Courtois has been left out of Belgium’s squad for Euro 2024.

The Real Madrid goalkeeper has been recovering from an ACL injury after missing most of the season but is expected to start the Champions League final against Borussia Dortmund on Saturday.

Courtois, who has earned 102 caps for his country has been snubbed by head coach Domenico Tedesco in favour of Koen Casteels, Thomas Kaminski and Matz Sels.

He had previously said the 32-year-old would not be selected as he been out of action for so long and has followed through on his promise.

A year ago, Tedesco also claimed Courtois refused to travel to join up with the squad after being overlooked for the captaincy.

But this time, it seems there has been an agreement between both parties to suggest he is simply not ready for a busy summer.

Tedesco said: “Courtois was very clear and honest and early in his communication.

“The latest information we received is that he is not ready for the European Championships. He knows his body best.”

There are plenty of star-studded names that have been included in Belgium’s squad for Euro 2024, including eight Premier League players.

Manchester City’s duo of Kevin De Bruyne and Jeremy Doku are both selected while Arsenal’s Leandro Trossard, Aston Villa’s Youri Tielemans, Everton midfielder Amadou Onana, Leicester defender Wout Faes and Fulham’s Timothy Castagne have also been named.

On loan Roma striker Romelu Lukaku will be playing in Germany after enjoying a brilliant campaign in Italy while there has been a shock recall for Atletico Madrid’s Alex Witsel, who had previously retired from international football.

Belgium can add one more player to their squad before the 7 June deadline.

They will open their Euro 2024 campaign against Slovakia on 17 June before facing Romania and Ukraine alongside them in Group E.

Full Belgium squad

Goalkeepers: Matz Sels (Nottingham Forest), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg), Thomas Kaminski (Luton)

Defenders: Wout Faes (Leicester), Timothy Castagne (Fulham), Arthur Theate (Rennes), Jan Vertonghen (Anderlecht), Axel Witsel (Atletico Madrid), Zeno Debast (Anderlecht), Thomas Meunier (Trabzonspor), Maxim De Cuyper (Club Brugge)

Midfielders: Aster Vranckx (Wolfsburg), Youri Tielemans (Aston Villa), Orel Mangala (Lyon), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Arthur Vermeeren (Atletico Madrid), Amadou Onana (Everton)

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku (Roma), Charles De Ketelaere (Atalanta), Jeremy Doku (Manchester City), Lois Openda (Leipzig), Leandro Trossard (Arsenal), Johan Bakayoko (PSV Eindhoven), Dodi Lukebakio (Sevilla), Yannick Carrasco (Al-Shabab)

Picture of Mitch Fretton

Mitch Fretton

Mitch is a freelance sports journalist with experience working for LiveScore, GOAL and Colchester United. He has experience working from both his desk at home and in the press box at games covering the Champions League and international football.