AC Milan

All 101 Articles 101 Social

About A.C. Milan

Associazione Calcio Milan, commonly referred to as A.C. Milan, are one of Italian football’s biggest clubs. The Rossoneri (Italian for Red and Blacks) were founded in December 1899 by two English Expatriates, originally as the Milan Cricket and Football Club.


Since the club’s inception, Milan’s home colours have been red and black. The home kit traditionally features these two colours in vertical stripes. Milan’s away kit is traditionally all white, and is viewed by many to be the club’s lucky kit colour. The club’s crest features the English flag, symbolising Milan’s English heritage.


Since 1926, the club have played their football at the Giusseppe Meazza Stadium, commonly known as the San Siro. The stadium seats over 80,000 spectators and is shared with AC’s local derby rivals, Inter Milan.


A.C. Milan are one of the most successful sides in Europe and the world, having won more than a dozen European trophies and four international titles. Domestically, Milan have won over thirty trophies, a haul only bettered by Juventus.


Despite their seven European Cup wins, Milan were on the losing side of one of the all-time greatest finals in football history. In the 2005 UEFA Champions League Final in Istanbul, Milan remarkably let a 3-0 halftime lead against Liverpool slip and eventually lost the match in a penalty shootout.


Milan have had countless legendary players wear their shirt, including Former FIFA World Players of the Year Ronaldo, George Weah, Rivaldo, Roberto Baggio, Kaka, and Marco van Basten. Their all-time leading appearance-maker is Paolo Maldini with 902 appearances. After Maldini retired in 2009, Milan retired his number 3 jersey in his honour. The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Swede Gunnar Nordahl who bagged 221 goals for the club. Andriy Shevchenko comes in second with 175 goals.


Englishman Herbert Kilpin was the club’s first manager, guiding Milan to two domestic titles. Other notable former managers include Nero Rocco and Fabio Capello, who won 10 and 9 trophies respectively for the club. Carlo Ancelotti holds the record for being Milan’s longest serving manager (seven years and 236 days).