Vote: Top 10 Goals of the Week

If no-one has bothered to tell you yet, the summer footballing drought is well and truly over. That’s left us overflowing with golazos for our weekly top ten list.

We start with an early contender for bicycle-kick of the season from the second tier in Germany, followed by a thunderous thunderbolt from a Manchester City forgotten man.

The solo-slalom goal of the week arrives from an Italian friendly at spot three, while we stay with individuals that hogged the spotlight with a belter from America at number four. Then, as we reach the halfway mark, Manchester United fans can savour a howitzer from one of the best teenagers to come through their youth system in years.

Spot six dredges up the goal of the week from the Europa League, followed by a wonder-strike from a little known Ukrainian footballer at goal seven.

That leaves three: Thierry Henry shows he isn’t in the MLS just to make up the numbers, the Brazilian top flight supplies a breathtaking half-volley, while the lob of the week is sourced from a friendly from Holland.

After stressing that our list is compiled in chronological order (and not order of preference), and that voting can be done at the bottom of this post, all that’s left to say is sit back and enjoy!

1. Sascha Rosler (Fortuna Dusseldorf v Bochum, July 18, 2011)

2. Shaun Wright-Phillips (Vancouver Whitecaps v Manchester City, July 18, 2011)

3. Amidu Salifu (Fiorentina v Cortina, July 18, 2011)

4. Brek Shea (Toronto FC v FC Dallas, July 20, 2011)

5. Paul Pogba (Fleetwood v Manchester United XI, July 20, 2011)

6. Sebastian Dudek (Dundee United v Slask Wroclaw, July 21, 2011)

7. Aleksandr Kovpak (Chornomorets Odessa v Arsenal Kiev, July 23, 2011)

8. Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls v FC Dallas, July 23, 2011)

9. Wallyson (Corinthians v Cruzeiro, July 23, 2011)

10. Rogier Meijer (De Graafschap v CSKA Sofia, July 23, 2011)


Missing the list were goals from Rafael van der Vaart, Erik Lamela, Juan Muniz, Joao Moutinho, Daniel Toszer, Rafael van der Vaart, Hiroki Yamada, Kei Kamara, Mike Magee, Yohan Court, Dusan Djuric, Kosuke Kimura, Michael Farfan, Alessandro Del Piero and Alex Morgan.


[poll id=”31″]