Advertiser Disclosure

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

In a season that was meant to see Everton really push on and solidify a place in the top seven, the Toffees are two poor performances away from falling short of their objectives and potentially in need of a change in course. They welcome Wolves to Goodison Park, with Nuno Espirito Santo and co. desperately looking to change the narrative that has surrounded them all season as they look to get into dry dock this summer for a badly-needed refit.
Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds
Everton FC
1
-
0
Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
Match ended
Show players
Doucoure, Abdoulaye
Holgate, Mason
90'
Sigurdsson, Gylfi
Gomes, Andre
86'
Coleman, Seamus
Davies, Tom
82'
80'
Moutinho, Joao
Vitinha
80'
Boly, Willy
Dendoncker, Leander
80'
Semedo, Nelson
68'
Gibbs-White, Morgan
Jose, Willian
Richarlison
48'

Everton vs Wolves betting tips

This article covers Everton vs Wolves betting tips and predictions, and these are the betting odds.

o – Everton 5/6

o – Draw 13/5

o – Wolves 10/3

Note: All odds mentioned in this article are correct at the time of publishing and are subject to change.

 

Everton vs Wolves: Match details

Match: Everton vs Wolves

Competition: Premier League

Date: May 19, 2021

Kick-off time: 6:00 pm, May 19, 2021 (UK time)

Stadium: Goodison Park

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

WOLVERHAMPTON, ENGLAND – APRIL 05: Pedro Neto of Wolverhampton Wanderers runs with the ball during the Premier League match between Wolverhampton Wanderers and West Ham United at Molineux on April 05, 2021 in Wolverhampton, England. Sporting stadiums around the UK remain under strict restrictions due to the Coronavirus Pandemic as Government social distancing laws prohibit fans inside venues resulting in games being played behind closed doors. (Photo by Jack Thomas – WWFC/Wolves via Getty Images)

 

Betting prediction: Everton 1-0 Wolves

Advertisement

With results of their recent encounters split down the middle (2-2-2) and both sides on an identical run of results in their last five Premier League fixtures (2-1-2), this match would normally have a draw written all over it, but injuries to the Wolves forward line leave them very short of effective attacking options. Everton is in much better shape by comparison, able to count on a likely matchday XI that should feature their best options regarding both goals and their ability to create chances. Wolves have one of the worst goal tallies in the league this term, and though Everton has been anything but consistent of late, they should have enough in the tank to end a poor run of form at Goodison Park (0-2-3).

Everton vs Wolves: Recommended bets

To Win to Nil: Everton 

Advertisement

With a season-long struggle in the final third now exacerbated further by three of Wolves’ four-best attacking options unavailable through injury, Everton has a real chance to get a clean sheet in front of home support at Goodison Park. The Toffees have had their own poor spells in attack this term, but a fully fit and preferred attacking trio could do just enough to push Carlo Ancelotti’s men to a three-point haul.

Wincast: Dominic Calvert-Lewin to score first + Everton Full Time Result 

Advertisement

Building off what most think should be a good chance at an Everton result, Dominic Calvert-Lewin will surely be looking to end 2020-21 on a high and force his way into a guaranteed spot for Gareth Southgate’s England team for the upcoming Euro. He’s hit two goals in his last four league appearances and currently resides level with Patrick Bamford on 16-goals and fifth in the goal charts. He is an obvious choice to include in this bet here.

Everton vs Wolves: What are the betting odds?

Everton vs Wolves – recent form and head to head statistics

Everton FC vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC form
l
Manchester City FC vs Everton FC - 5:0
w
Everton FC vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC - 1:0
l
Everton FC vs Sheffield United FC - 0:1
d
Aston Villa FC vs Everton FC - 0:0
w
West Ham United FC vs Everton FC - 0:1
Latest match form, last 5 games:
l
Wolverhampton Wanderers FC vs Manchester United FC - 1:2
l
Everton FC vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC - 1:0
l
Tottenham Hotspur FC vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC - 2:0
w
Wolverhampton Wanderers FC vs Brighton & Hove Albion FC - 2:1
d
West Bromwich Albion vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC - 1:1
Last 5 games for Everton FC
May 23, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Manchester City FC 5 - 0 Everton FC
May 19, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Everton FC 1 - 0 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
May 16, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Everton FC 0 - 1 Sheffield United FC
May 13, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Aston Villa FC 0 - 0 Everton FC
May 9, 2021 Premier League 20/21 West Ham United FC 0 - 1 Everton FC
Last 5 games for Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
May 23, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC 1 - 2 Manchester United FC
May 19, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Everton FC 1 - 0 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
May 16, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Tottenham Hotspur FC 2 - 0 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
May 9, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC 2 - 1 Brighton & Hove Albion FC
May 3, 2021 Premier League 20/21 West Bromwich Albion 1 - 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
Everton FC vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC Premier League 20/21 form
Everton FC Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
38 Matches played 38
17 Matches won 12
376 Goal attempts 435
143 Shots on goal 157
138 Shots off goal 161
167 Corner kicks 208
47% Average ball possession 49%
95 Shots blocked 117
61 Cards given 54
453 Free kicks 470
64 Offsides 39
2 Shots on post 6
5 Shots on bar 9
31 Goals by foot 27
14 Goals by head 7
47 Goals scored 36
48 Goals conceded 52
Everton FC vs Wolverhampton Wanderers FC statistics for most recent head to head matches
Everton FC Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
14 Matches 14
7 Home Matches 7
7 Away Matches 7
19 Total Goals 16
1.36 Average Goals Scored 1.14
6 Wins 3
3 Losses 6
5 Draws 5
Last 5 games & match results between Everton FC and Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
May 19, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Everton FC 1 - 0 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
January 12, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC 1 - 2 Everton FC
July 12, 2020 Premier League 19/20 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC 3 - 0 Everton FC
September 1, 2019 Premier League 19/20 Everton FC 3 - 2 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
February 2, 2019 Premier League 18/19 Everton FC 1 - 3 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC


 

Everton vs Wolves: Match preview

“We don’t have players of strong personality with the ball, strong quality with the ball. We are a team with defined characteristics, we are strong without the ball and direct. I think one of the technical reasons of this home run is this. When we try to build up from the back we have some more difficulties because we play slow. We don’t have the confidence with the ball compared to the confidence that we have without the ball.

At home we have to try and play more attacking football but it doesn’t work as well as direct attacking or counter-attack in the away games. It is really difficult to explain but I have to find a solution for this. – Maybe, for next season, we need to try and have, for sure, a better squad.”

There is no bigger managerial name – apart from Pep Guardiola – in the Premier League than Carlo Ancelotti. The iconic Italian manager has truly seen it all and done it all time and again across an illustrious career at the highest level, and when he rocked up at Goodison Park, many truly felt Everton would be able to kick on under his stewardship. Thus far, that has not exactly been the case. After roughly 200m spent on squad improvements in the last two summer windows, Everton could only muster finishing 12th last term and at the minute have to rely on winning their final two matches if they are to have a hope of maybe squeezing into Europe.

But the Toffees’ poor home form all season and inconsistency throughout the campaign has left a sour taste in the mouths of some, with questions now being asked if whether or not Ancelotti still has what it takes to tackle the modern game and be innovative enough to cope with the Premier League and a project like Everton. Despite business done since his arrival, the manner in which Everton are deployed tactically has not done nearly enough to help force their way into a bigger discussion regarding Europe. Considering the periods this term where Chelsea, Liverpool, and Arsenal have all struggled mightily, there was no better opportunity for the Toffees to seize but are on course to fall short of. Against a Wolves outfit that are happy to play without the ball and hit their opponents on the break, the expectation will be for Everton to find a way through despite their struggles when they are expected to control proceedings on the pitch. Failure to get a win at home for the sixth time on the bounce could see them drop to tenth should Arsenal beat Crystal Palace, and the murmurings about Ancelotti could increase to full-blown doubt.

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND – DECEMBER 21: Carlo Ancelotti, Manager of Everton is seen in the stands prior to the Premier League match between Everton FC and Arsenal FC at Goodison Park on December 21, 2019 in Liverpool, United Kingdom. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

Wolves need to improve in every way if they are to re-establish their credentials

The character that we require to chase a result we had, we had good situations offensively, good combinations, but you look at the end and we didn’t test [Hugo] Lloris. We didn’t put the ball inside of the goal, so terrible finishing. At least put the ball for the goalkeeper to have some work, that’s the main objective of finishing – we have to improve on that. The responsibility of the goals is for all the team and it can happen in all the situations. Today we had Fabio [Silva], Joao [Moutinho], Adama [Traore], we had situations we could finish.

We have to improve, we have two games to do in the season, tough games ahead of us, and we have to react and keep on trying things so we can bring this youth much stronger for our future, that’s the idea. Today [loss to Tottenham] was the same idea as the previous games, try to build, try to give opportunities to young players – we are positive and confident with their talent. It has to grow, so these two games are going to be tough, and we have to compete. This is my main message and idea – let’s compete.”

Compete is the optimal word when Wolves boss Nuno Espirito Santo reflected on his side’s inability to find a goal against Tottenham in their 2-0 loss while in the English capital. Much has been made – and mostly understood – about the struggles Wolves have dealt with this season on the back of key attacking players both leaving the club and missing the majority of the season, while some meant to fill the void never came close to being the same grade. Only four other Premier League outfits have bagged fewer goals than Espirito Santo’s men, while also regressing at the other end and are no longer the frustrating side to play against in the previous two seasons.

This is a pivotal period in the trajectory of the club, one that must now fall back on their usual reliable results in the transfer market dating back to the season they won promotion in the Championship when Rúben Neves was brought in. Reinforcements and upgrades will not be enough either, and eventually, the club and its fans must look at Espirito Santo and demand that he right the ship and put the club back on track on a tactical level. The Premier League can so often be a slippery slope, with just a small handful of seasons being enough to entirely make or break your direction. This season could easily end up being a one-off, with Wolves getting back on track next term and right back in the hunt for being a considerable top-half side with an outside shot at top-seven, but if they don’t get it right, they could end up in a similar position to West Ham United last term.

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

BRIGHTON, ENGLAND – OCTOBER 27: Nuno Espirito Santo, Manager of Wolverhampton Wanderers looks looks on prior to the Premier League match between Brighton & Hove Albion and Wolverhampton Wanderers at American Express Community Stadium on October 27, 2018 in Brighton, United Kingdom. (Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)


 

Everton team news vs Wolves

Carlo Ancelotti will just about have a full-strength squad to select from when Everton welcomes Wolves to the blue half of Merseyside in a must-win home fixture at Goodison Park.

Jean-Philippe Gbamin is sure to miss out on selection once again as his poor injury record continues. Yerry Mina and Joshua King face late assessments, with only Mina potentially in contention to start if he is passed fit and available.

Wolves team news vs Everton

It would not be the 2020-21 season without one fitness concern after another for Nuno Espirito Santo, with the Portuguese manager having to tackle more injury issues as the season ends.

Raúl Jiménez, Pedro Neto, and Jonny remain out and are now joined by Daniel Podence on the treatment table as Wolves are running out of reliable attacking options. Own Otasowie is listed as a doubt and may miss out as well.


 

Predicted Everton line-up vs Wolves

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

 

Predicted Wolves line-up vs Everton

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

Everton vs Wolves – Official video

– 101 Great Goals may earn commission from links on this page. Our content is always original. Note that all of our reviewers are compensated for contributing content to 101 Great Goals. Learn more.


This article was edited by Benjamin Newman.

Everton vs Wolves betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

What time is kick off between Everton vs Wolves?
17:00, Wednesday 19 May 2021
What is the prediction for Everton vs Wolves?
Everton 1-0 Wolves
What are the Everton vs Wolves betting odds?
Everton 5/6, Draw 13/5, Wolves 10/3