Advertiser Disclosure

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

For all their progress under Thomas Tuchel in the wake of Frank Lampard and Chelsea parting ways, the Blues' domestic season comes down to the final day as Chelsea are in need of three points if they are to guarantee themselves Champions League next season regardless of their date with Manchester City in the final. Aston Villa has no shot at Europe or even a top-half finish after their second-half of the season ran into trouble off the back of Jack Grealish's injury issues, but will still be pleased with their 2020-21 offers after they nearly were relegated the season prior.
Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds
Aston Villa Birmingham FC
2
-
1
Chelsea London FC
Match ended
Show players
90'
Arrizabalaga, Kepa
89'
Azpilicueta, Cesar
Martinez, Emilano
81'
El Ghazi, Anwar
Ramsey, Jacob
79'
Nakamba, Marvelous
74'
Traore, Bertrand
Chukwuemeka, Carney
73'
70'
Chilwell, Benjamin
66'
Kovacic, Mateo
Havertz, Kai
McGinn, John
65'
60'
Jorginho
Ziyech, Hakim
El Ghazi, Anwar
52'
49'
Kovacic, Mateo
46'
Mendy, Edouard
Arrizabalaga, Kepa
45'
Werner, Timo
45'
Jorginho
Traore, Bertrand
43'

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips

This article covers Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips and predictions, and these are the betting odds.

o – Aston Villa 11/2

o – Draw 15/4

o – Chelsea 9/20

Note: All odds mentioned in this article are correct at the time of publishing and are subject to change.

 

Aston Villa vs Chelsea: Match details

Match: Aston Villa vs Chelsea

Competition: Premier League

Date: May 23, 2021

Kick-off time: 4:00 pm, May 23, 2021 (UK time)

Stadium: Villa Park

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

Manchester United’s Paul Pogba (right) and Aston Villa’s Bertrand Traore battle for the ball during the Premier League match at Villa Park, Birmingham. Picture date: Sunday May 9, 2021. (Photo by Nick Potts/PA Images via Getty Images)

 

Betting prediction: Aston Villa 0-1 Chelsea

Advertisement

Chelsea’s recent 1-0 loss against rivals Arsenal at Stamford Bridge on matchday 36 means that they are forced to push for three points on the road at Aston Villa if they are to guarantee themselves a top-four finish this season. As such, Thomas Tuchel is likely to field the strongest XI possible as opposed to resting some key players in the run-up to the Champions League final clash with Manchester City.

As for Aston Villa and Dean Smith, there is no pathway to improvement or regression in the table, and with little to play for, Chelsea fans will surely look at this as a result that must end in three points. It should be a tight affair, but Chelsea really should be coming out on top here.

Aston Villa vs Chelsea: Recommended bets

Scorecast: Jorginho to Score 1st & Chelsea 1-0 Correct Score

Advertisement

This will be a shot in the dark given the odds, but there is scope for it. Jorginho’s 7-goals leads Chelsea in the Premier League, while the Blues goal tally is one of the lowest of every side in the top half. While the Italian international has not scored from open play (all seven have been from the penalty spot), earning a penalty give some of the players Chelsea are likely to have on show is certainly an option through the likes of Timo Werner and Christian Pulisic.

Correct Score: Chelsea 1-0

Out of the last six fixtures between these two, four of those results were decided by a one-goal difference. That trend could continue here.

Aston Villa vs Chelsea: What are the betting odds?

Aston Villa vs Chelsea – recent form and head to head statistics

Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Chelsea London FC form
w
Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Chelsea London FC - 2:1
w
Tottenham Hotspur London FC vs Aston Villa Birmingham FC - 1:2
l
Crystal Palace London FC vs Aston Villa Birmingham FC - 3:2
d
Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Everton Liverpool FC - 0:0
l
Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Manchester United FC - 1:3
Latest match form, last 5 games:
w
Manchester City FC vs Chelsea London FC - 0:1
l
Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Chelsea London FC - 2:1
w
Chelsea London FC vs Leicester City FC - 2:1
l
Chelsea London FC vs Leicester City FC - 0:1
l
Chelsea London FC vs Arsenal London FC - 0:1
Last 5 games for Aston Villa Birmingham FC
May 23, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 2 - 1 Chelsea London FC
May 19, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Tottenham Hotspur London FC 1 - 2 Aston Villa Birmingham FC
May 16, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Crystal Palace London FC 3 - 2 Aston Villa Birmingham FC
May 13, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 0 - 0 Everton Liverpool FC
May 9, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 1 - 3 Manchester United FC
Last 5 games for Chelsea London FC
May 29, 2021 UEFA Champions League 20/21 Manchester City FC 0 - 1 Chelsea London FC
May 23, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 2 - 1 Chelsea London FC
May 18, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Chelsea London FC 2 - 1 Leicester City FC
May 15, 2021 FA Cup 20/21 Chelsea London FC 0 - 1 Leicester City FC
May 12, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Chelsea London FC 0 - 1 Arsenal London FC
Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Chelsea London FC Premier League 20/21 form
Aston Villa Birmingham FC Chelsea London FC
Aston Villa Birmingham FC vs Chelsea London FC statistics for most recent head to head matches
Aston Villa Birmingham FC Chelsea London FC
54 Matches 54
28 Home Matches 26
26 Away Matches 28
46 Total Goals 90
0.85 Average Goals Scored 1.67
13 Wins 28
28 Losses 13
13 Draws 13
Last 5 games & match results between Aston Villa Birmingham FC and Chelsea London FC
May 23, 2021 Premier League 20/21 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 2 - 1 Chelsea London FC
December 28, 2020 Premier League 20/21 Chelsea London FC 1 - 1 Aston Villa Birmingham FC
June 21, 2020 Premier League 19/20 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 1 - 2 Chelsea London FC
December 4, 2019 Premier League 19/20 Chelsea London FC 2 - 1 Aston Villa Birmingham FC
April 2, 2016 Premier League 15/16 Aston Villa Birmingham FC 0 - 4 Chelsea London FC


 

Aston Villa vs Chelsea: Match preview

“”They were really happy in January but, obviously, disappointed like all of us that we’ve dropped off. They were understanding of why that’s happened and what we have to do to move forward again. To move forward we have to be a better team, a better football club, improve tactically, improve individually and as a team. That is progression.

The objectives are obviously league positions and we’ve gone from 13th in the Championship to 17th in the Premier League and now to 11th and the objective now is to improve next season as well. But I think finishing 11th is where we would be. If we’d have had an extremely good season then maybe we could have broken into the top eight. But, if we had a season where we expected then it would have been between 9th and 12th which is where we’ve been.”  – Dean Smith on Aston Villa’s ownership and season expectations

Aston Villa boss Dean Smith recently reflected on how club ownership has viewed the 2020-21 Premier League season, and the words point to nothing but positive thoughts overall. Villa survived 2019-20 by the skin of their teeth finishing just one place ahead of the bottom three, but have done exceptionally well to move forward this season to the point where many were dreaming of Europe at certain junctures. That never materialized, but the willingness of the club brass to financially back the on-pitch project indicates that more forward progression is expected next term under Smith as well. Whether or not the club keep Jack Grealish over the summer is another matter entirely, but if they do manage to keep the mercurial academy product, more squad reinforcement akin to last summer will be necessary if the Aston Villa are to make a push for the top third of the table. A real summer of expectation could be on the horizon at Villa Park.

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

LONDON, ENGLAND – NOVEMBER 08: Goalkeeper Emiliano Martínez of Aston Villa during the Premier League match between Arsenal and Aston Villa at Emirates Stadium on November 08, 2020 in London, England. Sporting stadiums around the UK remain under strict restrictions due to the Coronavirus Pandemic as Government social distancing laws prohibit fans inside venues resulting in games being played behind closed doors. (Photo by Visionhaus)

Thomas Tuchel; Chelsea have no fear

“I’m very, very poor at mathematics but I know what can happen if we lose, and of course you can lose any match in football. But there’s a big difference between fear and danger. Are we in fear? No, we are not, because we trust our skills. Are we in danger? Yeah, of course. But if I go over the street after training I’m in danger, and I will still go over the street. I will not sit here all day. I will go over the street because I trust myself that I can take care of myself. Will I drive a car today? Yes, I will. Is there a danger of an accident? Yes, a high danger of an accident, but I will still drive the car because I trust my skills and I trust the rules. This is a big difference.” – Thomas Tuchel

In typical Thomas Tuchel fashion, the German tactician put his own spin on Chelsea’s current situation coming into the final weekend of the Premier League this season. With a date against Manchester City in the Champions League final on the horizon, Tuchel was hoping to have top four sealed when Chelsea traveled to Villa Park but that is not how fate will be decided. Three points, or the same result as Leicester City (who take on Tottenham at home), is the only way to ensure a return to Europe’s top club competition, and with the stakes remaining high over the next week, the right mentality is necessary if Chelsea hope to achieve both their aims as the book on 2020-21 closes. A full-strength matchday XI is expected to feature against Villa as it cannot be presumed that the Blues will topple City a week from today and perhaps that could be a good thing. Keeping your best players mentally sharp coming into such a high-pressure fixture, off the back of another, may end up being an ace in the hole for the former PSG, Borussia Dortmund, and Mainz 05 headmaster. In a season that could have ended in disappointment, Chelsea are 180-minutes away from pure joy.

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

LONDON, ENGLAND – MAY 18: N’Golo Kante of Chelsea is consoled by Thomas Tuchel, Manager of Chelsea as he is substituted following an injury during the Premier League match between Chelsea and Leicester City at Stamford Bridge on May 18, 2021 in London, England. A limited number of fans will be allowed into Premier League stadiums as Coronavirus restrictions begin to ease in the UK following the COVID-19 pandemic. (Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images)


 

Aston Villa team news vs Chelsea

Aston Villa earned a good result against Tottenham last time out, with a 2-1 win against Spurs that consigned the capital club to a season that can end no higher than seventh.

Dean Smith may not make any changes from the side that ran out winners, despite the hopeful returns of Douglas Luiz and Jacob Ramsey.

Trézéguet, Morgan Sanson, and Matty Cash are all unavailable for selection through injury, while Ross Barkley is unable to feature against his parent side and likely will mean his time at Villa ends this weekend.

Chelsea team news vs Aston Villa

Thomas Tuchel is in a tricky spot here and will likely need to field a stronger side than planned consider Chelsea are not guaranteed a top-four finish yet.

Kai Havertz, N’Golo Kante, and Andreas Christensen are all close to full returns but even if available on Sunday are unlikely to be selected with the Champions League final in a week’s time. Despite that, it is assumed that Tuchel will go with just about his strongest team as a win is paramount.


 

Predicted Aston Villa line-up vs Chelsea

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

 

Predicted Chelsea line-up vs Aston Villa

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

Aston Villa vs Chelsea – Official video

– 101 Great Goals may earn commission from links on this page. Our content is always original. Note that all of our reviewers are compensated for contributing content to 101 Great Goals. Learn more.


This article was edited by Benjamin Newman.

Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting tips: Preview, predictions & odds

What time is kick off between Aston Villa vs Chelsea?
15:00, Sunday 23 May 2021
What is the prediction for Aston Villa vs Chelsea?
Aston Villa 0-1 Chelsea
What are the Aston Villa vs Chelsea betting odds?
Aston Villa 11/2, Draw 15/4, Chelsea 9/20