Women’s World Cup 2023: Everything you need to know- including full draw

Who is in each group?

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines & Switzerland.

Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria & Canada.

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia & Japan.

Group D: England, play-off winner B, Denmark & China PR.

Group E: United States, Vietnam, Netherlands & play-off winner A.

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil & play-off winners C.

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy & Argentina.

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia & Korea Republic.

When do the play-offs take place and who’s in each path?

The inter-confederation play-offs are scheduled for February 2023 and will be hosted by New Zealand.

Path A: Semi-final- Cameroon vs Thailand, winners play Portugal in the final.

Path B: Semi-final- Senegal vs Haiti, winners play Chile in the final.

Path C: Semi-finals- Chinese Taipei vs Paraguay & Papua New Guinea vs Panama.

Is the format different to 2019?

Yes. The Women’s World Cup will feature 32 teams, up from 24 in 2019.

This expansion has helped Vietnam, Zambia, Morocco and Republic of Ireland qualify for the very first time.

Exactly the same as men’s World Cups from 1998-2022, there are eight groups, with the top two progressing through to the round of 16, followed by a straight knockout stages.

When does the Women’s World Cup kick off?

The opening game of Women’s World Cup 2023 will see New Zealand face A2 in Auckland on 20 July. That same evening, co-hosts Australia will take on B2 in Sydney.

The final, hosted by Stadium Australia, is scheduled for 20 August.

Ben Gray

Ben Gray

Arsenal fan – follow them over land and sea (and Leicester); sofa Celtic supporter; a bit of a football '"encyclopedia".

Related Content