UEFA to announce drastic changes to Champions League format tomorrow

Champions League trophy
Champions League trophy

Champions League format change

According to Sky Sports News reporter Kaveh Solhekol, UEFA will tomorrow announce some big changes to their Champions League format which will come into effect in 2018.

Teams from the big four leagues – England, Spain, Italy and Germany – will be guaranteed sixteen spots (four each) in the group stage every year.

Italy will go from having two Champions League spots and one qualification spot to having four Champions League spots. This will surely cause outrage.

Why this is drastic

Clubs from leagues outside the top four are set to be screwed by UEFA’s outrageous and elitist rule change.

For example, the Austrian League champions already need to win three qualifiers in order to progress to the group stage. It will now be even more difficult for these teams to make the final 32.

The rich will get richer… UEFA, the sponsors and obviously the big clubs in the top 4 leagues.

Click here for more Premier League betting tips