Nemanja Matic celebrates Golazo v Spurs

Puskas Award 2017: Watch all 10 goals on 1 video: Including Arsenal & Chelsea strikes

Puskas Award 2017

On Friday, FIFA announced the 10 nominees for the Puskas Award 2017.

Ever since it was introduced in 2009, the Puskas Award, named after legendary Hungarian and Real Madrid star Ferenc Puskas, has decided the goal of the year.

Over the years we have had many qualms with how FIFA run this award and consistently question how they put together their list on an annual basis.

2017: From November to July?!

This year it is not difficult at all to question the list produced by FIFA.

As FIFA confirm on their website: “A panel of goalscoring experts have whittled down the thousands of goals from around the world between 20 November 2016 to 2 July 2017 to just ten.”

Late November to early July, what the actual f*** is going on here FIFA?!

The Best Awards: October 23, 2017

Clearly, FIFA have looked to steal a march on their rivals, namely the Ballon d’Or and France Football, this year.

Whilst the annual FIFA awards used to take place in early January, this year they will take place on October 23, 2017.

As a result, FIFA have shortened the period of the Puskas Award which seriously cuts into the quality of the list.

The 10 nominees for the Puskas Award 2017

The 10 nominees for the Puskas Award 2017

The 10 nominees for the Puskas Award 2017

There are some fine goals on this list and plenty of intrigue considering it is a public vote.

When you remember that the public will decide on this, Olivier Giroud’s Scorpion Kick for Arsenal versus Crystal Palace must be a shoo-in for this award.

Celtic’s team goal, scored by Moussa Dembele could also have a big chance.

Whilst some of the less well known non-European teams could also muster huge votes online.

Much like that which saw Mohd Faiz Subri win the 2016 Puskas Award.

One man who isn’t winning is Nemanja Matic – there is no way Chelsea fans will vote for the Serb to win now he plays for Manchester United.

Puskas Award 2017: Watch all 10 goals on 1 video

Related: Has Aviles Hurtado of Tijuana Xolos won the 2017 Puskas Award?

Nemanja Matic predicted his Golazo v Spurs as Chelsea fans call for Puskas Award.

Click here for more Premier League betting tips