Arsene Wenger banned after West Brom
There was a tinge of irony in Arsene Wenger’s direction on Sunday as Bournemouth took on Arsenal.
The match was goalless at the break, however Bournemouth could have won a spot kick.
Wenger wasn’t in the Gunners dugout once again. The Arsenal boss is currently enduring a touchline ban after what recently happened at West Brom.
Wenger lost it with ref Mike Dean during a 1-1 draw with the Baggies. West Brom scored with a late controversial penalty.
But on Sunday against Bournemouth it was Arsenal who got away with a stonewall penalty call.
Calum Chambers vs Baggies
To recap, a few weeks ago at the Hawthorns Calum Chambers had a penalty awarded against him a minute from time.
The handball looked completely unintentional and the decision was very harsh.
Jay Rodriguez made no mistake from the spot.
Look how close Chambers is!
The ball must have travelled all of 10 inches, his feet are planting, the arms naturally go forward when stopping, but they are not 'out' or 'up'
The clearest case of 'ball to hand' you'll ever see!
— Carl Bövis ⚽ (@CarlBovis_AFC) December 31, 2017
Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi handball vs Bournemouth
Should Bournemouth have won a penalty against Arsenal?
Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi elbowed a delivery into the Gunners box following a Bournemouth corner.
Iwobi looked like he knew exactly what he was doing. His elbow was in a bizarre position as he seemed to misjudge a header to clear the ball.
But no decision was given to the Cherries.
That lead many to claim Arsenal got away with it, and that levels out what happened against West Brom.
Iwobi hand ball was not caught by the referee.. that should have been a penalty to @afcbournemouth & not given.. So Arsenal fans, have your West Brom feud equalized… Coz that hand-ball looked a sure pen, ball travelled a long distance and hand was out @ArsenalFanTV @MrDtAFC
— Mizgan (@mizgans) January 14, 2018
HT 0-0 Wilshere the best thing about #afc so far. Both sides lacking conviction in the final third at present. Iwobi somewhat fortunate to get away with handball in the box just before the break.
— James Olley (@JamesOlley) January 14, 2018
There you go agenda lovers. Iwobi could have easily given away pen for handball. Ref didn’t give it so make sure you all log that one as well.
— GarethArsenal (@GarethJames316) January 14, 2018
Iwobi lucky to get away with a handball there – ref looking right at it as well.
— Charles Watts (@charles_watts) January 14, 2018
How on earth is the ref not seeing that handball from Iwobi? Literally looking straight at him. Bottle jobs the refs lately.
— Dane Conneely (@DaneConneely) January 14, 2018
Also see: Why Mesut Ozil missed Bournemouth vs Arsenal.