Brighton 0 – Liverpool 1
Liverpool are seven points clear of Man City once again following a 1-0 away win at Brighton.
Man City can close the gap to four points if they beat Wolves at the Etihad Stadium on Monday.
The only goal of the game came from the penalty spot.
Mohamed Salah dispatched the spot-kick after the Egyptian went down in the Brighton box.
Did Mohamed Salah dive vs Brighton?
Another weekend of accusations against Mohamed Salah.
Salah won the penalty against Brighton following a challenge from Pascal Gross.
Gross tried to close down Salah after the forward turned in the Brighton box.
TV replays showed that Gross had a hand on Salah’s arm as the Liverpool attacker twisted in the area.
It’s also worth noting that just before Salah fell, Gross tried to win the ball with a tackle from behind.
Nevertheless, when Salah eventually went down, did he actually dive?
Those looking to call out Salah for cheating indicate that Gross wasn’t touching his opponent when he hit the deck.
Mohamed Salah accused of cheating
There’s now a range of accusations aimed at Salah on a weekly basis.
Some say he goes down too easily.
Others believe Salah is a cheater who needs to be punished.
While, of course, Salah’s supporters believe he’s being wrongly targeted for obvious penalty decisions.
It’s worth noting that Brighton manager Chris Houghton had no problems with Liverpool’s penalty call.
Yet others do.
Social media backlash
Chris Hughton on #LFC's pen: "I feel for Pascal. Mo Salah is probably the most dangerous player in those positions. No complaints."
— Glenn Price (@GlennPrice94) January 12, 2019
"He's getting a habit of making the most of any challenges."
— beIN SPORTS (@beINSPORTS) January 12, 2019
Liverpool can't score? Don't celebrate just yet, the referee will give them a penalty after a Salah dive
— Jůan Selaťse (@edanto_) January 12, 2019
Mo Salah giving competition to Neymar for Dive d'Or pic.twitter.com/YrQdpWMkKH
— Troll Football (@TrollFootball) January 12, 2019
Did anyone have 50 minutes in the Mo Salah/Liverpool dive sweepstake? pic.twitter.com/xNQLYmtFNx
— And Solskjaer has won it! (@ryanbowring) January 12, 2019
– Another Salah dive
– Van Dijk handball – no penalty
– Every single decision went Liverpool way
FA doing everything to help Liverpool win.
— Guardiolista ™ (@Guardiolista01) January 12, 2019