Liverpool 4 – Crystal Palace 3
In a match packed with goals an incidents, three handball decisions have been flagged up in the aftermath of Liverpool’s 4-3 win over Crystal Palace.
Liverpool had shouts for two penalties.
As for Palace, Liverpool’s fourth goal could have been chalked off.
Andros Townsend’s handball
With the scores level at 0-0 near the start of the game, Liverpool could have won a penalty.
Slow-motion replays revealed that Andros Townsend handled the ball in the Palace box when challenging for possession with Sadio Mane.
While Townsend’s hand was in the air, so was Mane’s.
Referee Jon Moss decided that Mane had touched the ball with his hand, as the Eagles won a free-kick.
As such, Liverpool could have won a penalty.
Andy Robertson’s handball
Liverpool’s crucial fourth goal of the game was scored by Sadio Mane.
Mane’s goal came after Andy Robertson just managed to keep the ball in play.
However, as flagged up on Match of the Day, Robertson controlled the ball with his hand.
Why didn’t the officials spot it? In fairness to the linesman on the left-hand side, he was stood far away from the play.
Nevertheless, Palace can feel aggrieved that the killer goal in the game could have been scrapped had the officials spotted the handball.
James Tomkins handball
IN a third incident in the second half, James Tomkins touched the ball with his hand in the Palace box.
Tomkins’ contact came after he closed down Naby Keita.
On this occasion the ball popped up, and Tomkins’ handball seemed accidental.
No handball was given, and that seemed like the right call.