Liverpool dominate Ballon d’Or nominee list/Spurs & Arsenal stars also named

Gini Wijnaldum

The 30 nominees for this year’s prestigious Ballon d’Or award have been announced this evening, with European champions Liverpool having been rewarded for their superb year with a hefty 7 names on the shortlist.

Ballon d’Or 2019

The latest edition of world football’s most prized individual accolade is set to be handed out in two months’ time.

The Ballon d’Or ceremony, which sees the finest footballers from around the globe gather with respective hopes of being named the world’s best for the calendar year, will take place on December 2nd at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.

The current holder of the prize is Real Madrid midfielder Luke Modric.

Luka Modric

MOSCOW, RUSSIA – JULY 15: Luka Modric of Croatia receives the adidas Golden Ball award following the 2018 FIFA World Cup Final between France and Croatia at Luzhniki Stadium on July 15, 2018 in Moscow, Russia. (Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images)

30-man shortlist announced

Modric, though, will not be defending his crown this time around.

The nominees for 2019’s Ballon d’Or prize were named a short time ago, with the Croatian dynamo having been left off the list.

In the buildup to the ceremony, Barcelona talisman Lionel Messi stands as the favourite to clinch the prize, which would mark a record-breaking 6th for the Argentine attacker.

As such, Messi was inevitably named amongst the latest batch of nominees, alongside Barcelona teammates Frenkie de Jong, Marc-André ter Stegen and Antoine Griezmann.

Barca’s 4 nominations, however, only stand as the 3rd-most of any single club.

Premier League champions Manchester City have 5 players up for the award, but it is Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool, with 7, who top the pile.

All of Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Roberto Firmino, Alisson, Virgil van Dijk, Georginio Wijnaldum and Trent Alexander-Arnold have been honoured with a place on the Ballon d’Or shortlist:

The full list of players up for this year’s prize, as decided on by France Football, are showcased below:

  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands)
  • Bernardo Silva (Man City/Portugal)
  • Heung-min Son (Tottenham/South Korea)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)
  • Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/Brazil)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal)
  • Alisson Becker (Liverpool/Brazil)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus/Netherlands)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool/Netherlands)
  • Kylian Mbappé (PSG/France)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool/England)
  • Donny van de Beek (Ajax/Netherlands)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal/Gabon)
  • Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany)
  • Sadio Mané (Liverpool/Senegal)
  • Sergio Agüero (Man City/Argentina)
  • Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona/Netherlands)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France)
  • Dusan Tadic (Ajax/Serbia)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Man City/Algeria)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City/Belgium)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli/Senegal)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid/Barcelona/France)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid/Belgium)
  • Marquinhos (PSG/Brazil)
  • Raheem Sterling (Liverpool/England)
  • João Félix (Benfica/Atlético Madrid/Portugal)

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer got Man United tactics ‘spot on’ vs Liverpool – Neville

Barcelona vs Real Madrid rescheduled for December – Sport