The FIFA Ballon d’Or is no more: FIFA and France Football have gone separate ways [MD]

Lionel Messi has five Ballon d'Or awards
Lionel Messi has five Ballon d’Or awards

No more FIFA Ballon d’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo might break into a cold sweat when he hears that the Ballon d’Or is no more. Cursed to only win three, he’ll forever be behind record-holder Lionel Messi, who’s years ahead on five. But let’s not panic. It’s the FIFA Ballon d’Or that’s sleeping with the fishes. New FIFA president Gianni Infantino doesn’t see the benefit of the association. Mundo Deportivo reported the news.

Double the awards

He wants to revive the FIFA World Player of the Year award. Now we have two awards galas to look forward to at the turn of the year. Plus, the politics of the award will change in the eyes of fans. If, let’s say, Ronaldo won the FIFA World Player of the Year and Messi won the Ballon d’Or, we think we know which awards would have more credibility in the eyes of their respective fans.

Before the two awards merged together in 2009, the Ballon d’Or was the slightly more alternate award. It rewarded players based on their previous 12 months rather than reputation or politics. Not to say that the likes of Ronaldinho and Zidane didn’t deserve their awards! It’s just a little more exciting to see a player like Shevchenko or Nedved get their first than Zidane get his third, y’know?

Why you need a VPN?
Cut chords:
Watch everything (Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Hulu) online using a VPN.
Unlock geoblocking:
A VPN gives you access to the best content from anywhere in the world.
Privacy & security:
A VPN keeps your information private, activity encrypted & data anonymous.
Just $6.67 a month + 3 months free!