FIFA announce nominees for Best Goalkeeper 2017


FIFA have announced the goalkeeper nominees for their upcoming The Best awards.

The Best awards ceremony on 23 October in London.


Gianluigi Buffon

Buffon helped Juventus to a sixth consecutive Serie A title, and a third successive domestic double.

Thanks to the 2006 World Cup winner, Juve were the only team to concede less than 30 goals in the league.

Still in search of a first ever Champions League trophy, the veteran shot-stopper made it to another European final in last season’s competition.

Unfortunately for the 39-year-old, his Juventus side were comfortably beaten 4-1 by Real Madrid.

Keylor Navas

The winning goalkeeper, Keylor Navas, is also nominated.

The Costa Rican also helped Zinedine Zidane’s side win La Liga.

Manuel Neuer

Consistently one of the best goalkeepers in the world in recent times, Neuer helped Bayern Munich to another Budesliga title.

The Bavarians were eliminated in the Champions League at the quarter-final stage, but Germany’s number 1 still did enough to earn a nomination.

Neuer was officially made Bayern Munich captain in the summer following Phillip Lahm’s retirement.

The 31-year-old was picked at last year’s award ceremony.

Neuer has recently suffered a major injury blow and will not play again in 2017.