Euro 2024 qualifying: Everything you need to know- including draw

Who is hosting Euro 2024?

The 17th edition will take place in Germany, who’ve previously hosted Euro ‘88, as well as World Cup ‘74 and 2006.

Venues for the finals tournament are located in: Berlin, Dortmund, Munich, Gelsenkirchen, Stuttgart, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Leipzig, Düsseldorf and Köln.

Who is in each group?

Group A: Spain, Scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus.

Group B: Netherlands, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibraltar.

Group C: Italy, England, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta.

Group D: Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Türkiye, Latvia.

Group E: Poland, Czech Republic, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova.

Group F: Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia.

Group G: Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania.

Group H: Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland, San Marino.

Group I: Switzerland, Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra.

Group J: Portugal, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein.

Germany have qualified automatically; Russia remain suspended from all FIFA and UEFA competitions.

How does qualifying work?

The top two teams in each group will qualify automatically, joining hosts Germany at the tournament.

The remaining three places will be up for grabs in the play-offs.

12 teams, who’ve failed to qualify automatically, will compete in the play-offs, with spots are awarded based on a team’s UEFA Nations League ranking.

When are matches taking place?

Group stage qualifiers are all played in 2023, during the FIFA international windows in March, June, September, October & November.

The play-offs are scheduled for March 2024, with the semi-finals on 21st and the finals five days later.

The Euro′s opening game will take place in Munich on 14 June 2024, with the final exactly a month later in Berlin.

Ben Gray

Ben Gray

Arsenal fan – follow them over land and sea (and Leicester); sofa Celtic supporter; a bit of a football '"encyclopedia".

Related Content