Cristiano Ronaldo & UEFA award

Cristiano Ronaldo & Man United in line for new UEFA awards

New UEFA awards

Whenever the topic of individual awards in football comes up, disagreement usually follows.

One of the constant arguments raised against such awards, including the Ballon d’Or, is that football is a team sport, while these prizes ultimate boil down to a popularity test.

Yet, while not everyone may be in favour of such prizes, it’s clear that UEFA are fans.

On Tuesday, UEFA have revealed five new individual awards which they’ll hand out in August.

What’s the story?

UEFA have made the following announcement on their official website today:

UEFA has announced the introduction of five new players’ awards, voted for by leading coaches and members of the media, which will be presented in Monaco in August.

UEFA will present four new Champions League awards at the gala event for this season’s group stages in the UCL. Those awards are for the best goalie, defender, midfielder and striker in the 2016-17 Champions League.

The fifth award is for the best player in the 2016-17 Europa League.

Likely winners

The launch of the new awards should be good news for Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Real Madrid star is surely a shoo-in to win the best striker of the 2016-17 Champions League, after he scored 12 goals in last season’s competition.

You’d also suspect that several other Real Madrid stars will scoop the other UCL awards.

As for Man United, who won the Europa League, they’d fancy their chances of one of their player’s picked up the UEL award.

Perhaps that will be Henrikh Mkhitaryan, as the Armenian star was Man United’s top scorer in the competition with six goals.

For the record, Roma’s Edin Dzeko and Zenit’s Giuliano both top scored in the competition with eight goals apiece.