Harry Kane 1 – Chelsea 0
Tottenham will take a 1-0 lead to Chelsea in the Carabao Cup semi-final second-leg.
Spurs beat the Pensioners at Wembley on Tuesday night thanks to a Harry Kane penalty.
Most of the conversation regarding Kane’s goal has been on whether the striker was stood in an offside position at the start of the move.
Yet some Chelsea fans are talking about the penalty call itself.
Blues goalie Kepa Arrizabalaga took out Kane in the box.
Referee Michael Oliver quickly pointed to the spot, and Kane duly dispatched the penalty.
Does Harry Kane practice diving?
Yet some are paying close attention to how Kane hit the deck after the coming-together with Kepa.
The accusation is that Kane didn’t dive normally.
As the Chelsea stopper came out to meet him, Kane flew in the air with his legs closely put together.
Is that a rehearsed move learned on the training ground?
What Harry Kane thought of the penalty
On the wider issue of whether VAR got the offside call correct, Kane was confident the system worked well.
"VAR is there for a reason and I'm sure they've got it right."
— Sky Sports Football (@SkyFootball) January 9, 2019
Social media backlash
Social media is now full of people trying to convince others that Harry Kane practices diving.
Some of the tweets are below.
Think Harry Kane dived for that penalty? Look closer… pic.twitter.com/2U4YbWItuP
— FootballJOE (@FootballJOE) January 8, 2019
I mean who falls like this pic.twitter.com/ZidqEV1B2A
— JB™️ (@gunnerpunner) January 8, 2019
Can’t believe that Harry Kane has conned half the population into thinking he wins fouls legitimately. Collapses his legs into the keeper/defender every time.
— AFCAMDEN (@AFCAMDEN) January 8, 2019
Look at the way his legs go together the bloke legit practises diving 😭 pic.twitter.com/zHTTYwb0kI
— Ben Goodwin (@BGinge8) January 8, 2019
Also see: How Chelsea ‘proved’ Harry Kane was offside.