Bayern Munich clinch record-extending sixth consecutive Bundesliga title

Bayern Munich have extended their record to six consecutive Bundesliga titles having beaten Augsburg 4-1 away from home this afternoon.

Munich’s streak of German top-flight titles began back during the 2012/13 when they dethroned Borussia Dortmund as the champions.

The Bavarians have sealed the title with still five games remaining as they lead second-placed Schalke by 20 points.

Augsburg 1-4 Bayern Munich

For a record-extending 28th time, Bayern have been crowned national champions of Germany having thrashed Augsburg 4-1 away from home.

The champions were forced to come from behind as Niklas Sule scored an own goal headed past Sven Ulreich, however, two quick successive goals from Bayern turned the game on its head.

Corentin Tolisso and James Rodriguez scored within the space of just four minutes to hand Bayern the lead and set them on their way to three points.

In the second-half goals from Arjen Robben and Sandro Wagner rounded off proceedings as Jupp Heynckes’ side eventually cruised to their 23rd win of the season.

Reaction to the record

Get notified!
About the best football betting tips from industry experts!
Thank you!