Olivier Giroud v West Ham

Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud in line for a major FIFA award

Puskas Award 2017

Around three weeks ago, FIFA announced the 10 nominees for the Puskas Award 2017.

Ever since it was introduced in 2009, the Puskas Award, named after legendary Hungarian and Real Madrid star Ferenc Puskas, has decided the goal of the year.

Over the years we have had many qualms with how FIFA run this award and consistently question how they put together their list on an annual basis.

2017: From November to July?!

This year it is not difficult at all to question the list produced by FIFA.

As FIFA confirm on their website: “A panel of goalscoring experts have whittled down the thousands of goals from around the world between 20 November 2016 to 2 July 2017 to just ten.”

Late November to early July, what the actual f*** is going on here FIFA?!

Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud

Saying that, Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud isn’t likely to be grumbling too much about the 2017 Puskas Award.

That’s after the Gunners centre-forward was picked in the final three for the top prize.

Giroud made the cut for his memorable scorpion kick golazo for Arsenal versus Crystal Palace in the Premier League.

The Arsenal star is up against Deyna Castellanos. The Venezuelan international made the final list for extraordinary effort from the halfway line against Cameroon at the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

Lastly, South African goalie Oscarine Masuluke is also up for the award. Masuluke scored an incredible last-minute bicycle kick equaliser for Baroka FC against Orlando Pirates.

Also see: Arsenal ‘agree’ Ajax summer deal.

Horrible for Wenger: Arsenal head to Watford with six injured stars.