Arsenal name 25 man PL squad – Wilshere included, Cazorla left out

Arsenal have named their 25-man squad list for the first-half of the Premier League campaign.


Each Premier League outfit had to submit their finalised squad by last night, with the Gunners having included a couple of long-forgotten names in their entry.

Mathieu Debuchy, who had looked certain to depart the Emirates this summer, has been included, along with fellow defender Calum Chambers, who spent last season on loan at Middlesbrough and was the subject of a number of bids from Leicester City late in the transfer window.

The Gunners have also named four goalkeepers, in the form of Petr Cech, David Ospina, Matt Macey and Deyan Iliev.

Midfielder Jack Wilshere, who was linked with the likes of Bournemouth, Crystal Palace, Birmingham City, AC Milan, AS Roma, Antalyaspor and more, has also been included.

Missing out

However, despite having recently posted a number of positive updates regarding his recovery on social media, Spanish midfielder and Gunners fan-favourite Santi Cazorla has been omitted from the squad.

Get notified!
About the best football betting tips from industry experts!
Thank you!

This means that the 32-year-old will not be permitted to feature for the North Londoners in the Premier League until at least January of next year.

Cazorla has not featured for Arsenal since a Champions League victory over Ludogorets in October of last year.

The 25-man Arsenal squad in full:

Chuba Akpom, Hector Bellerin, Petr Cech, Calum Chambers, Francis Coquelin, Mathieu Debuchy, Mohamed Elneny, Olivier Giroud, Rob Holding, Deyan Iliev, Sead Kolasinac, Laurent Koscielny, Alexandre Lacazette, Matt Macey, Per Mertesacker, Nacho Monreal, Shkodran Mustafi, David Ospina, Mesut Ozil, Aaron Ramsey, Alexis Sanchez, Theo Walcott, Danny Welbeck, Jack Wilshere, Granit Xhaka.

Merson: ‘Embarrassing’ Arsenal should have made an offer for new Chelsea man Danny Drinkwater

Arsene Wenger: Alexis Sanchez ‘100% committed’ to Arsenal