Andres Iniesta sets a new football record after Barcelona’s title win

Andres Iniesta Barcaelona Granada

Barca are champions!

Barcelona are champions once again!

As if it was ever in doubt, the Catalans breezed past Granada with a 3-0 away win on the final day of the season, thanks to a Luis Suarez hat-trick.

Suarez finished the Spanish campaign as the league’s top scorer with 40 goals in La Liga.

Barcelona have now won the championship 24 times in the club’s history.

Also see: Barça pip Real Madrid to Liga title; Suarez beats Cristiano Ronaldo to Pichichi [Tweets & Stats]

Andres Iniesta stats

Andres Iniesta was the Barca captain away at Granada, and the championship lifted the midfielder maestro onto his own new pedestal.

Before Saturday, Iniesta was tied with Xavi in having 28 career titles.

Now Iniesta has moved onto 29 titles, which is a new record in world football history.

If that wasn’t enough, Iniesta, along with Leo Messi, now have won the Spanish title eight times: equal with Xavi.

Real Madrid legend Francisco Gento has the all time Spanish league title record, having won the championship on 12 occasions.

Why you need a VPN?
Cut chords:
Watch everything (Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Hulu) online using a VPN.
Unlock geoblocking:
A VPN gives you access to the best content from anywhere in the world.
Privacy & security:
A VPN keeps your information private, activity encrypted & data anonymous.
Just $6.67 a month + 3 months free!