Shimizu held at Gamba but stay top; Nagoya stay second after Niigata draw; Yokohama win

Yamagata 0 – Yokohama F. Marinos 1 (J-League, April 17, 2010) Daisuke Sakata’s goal midway through the second half earned Yokohama the points.

FC Tokyo 1 – Kyoto Sanga 1 (J-League, April 17, 2010) Makoto Kakuda’s early opener had given the visitors a lead that Tokyo’s Sota Hirayama erased with a penalty in the 73rd minute.

Jubilo Iwata 1 – Omiya Ardija 1 (J-League, April 17, 2010) Jubilo forward Ryoichi Maeda headed home a Yuichi Komano cross in the 59th minute after Omiya forward Naoki Ishihara had opened the scoring in the first half.

Nagoya Grampus Eight 1 – Albirex Niigata 1 (J-League, April 17, 2010) Nagoya defender Marcus Tulio Tanaka headed home a Magnum corner in the 83rd minute but it was cancelled out by Niigata substitute forward Hideo Oshima six minutes later. Nagoya moved up to second, though, while Niigata remained bottom of the table without a win to their name.

Gamba Osaka 1 – Shimizu S-Pulse (J-League, April 17, 2010) Shimizu started cautiously and the hosts took the lead in the 40th minute through Tomokazu Myojin’s penalty after Kazumichi Takagi was fouled by Australian defender Eddy Bosnar in the box. Gamba, who were without injured Japan midfielders Yasuhito Endo and Hideo Hashimoto, could not hold on to their lead, though, and Shimizu levelled in the 70th minute when Shinji Okazaki controlled Johnsen’s pass and fired home from just inside the box.