Goals from the A-League

Brisbane Roar 1 – Sydney FC 0 (A-League, September 27, 2009) Dutch striker Serginho van Dijk scored with five minutes left Sunday to give the Brisbane Roar a 1-0 win over Sydney.

Gold Coast United 2 – Melbourne Victory 3 (A-League, September 26, 2009) Jason Culina sent Victory keeper Glen Moss the wrong way from the spot and open the scoring after 18 minutes. Melbourne levelled just four minutes later when Carlos Hernandez unleashed a fierce drive from 25-yards. Archie Thompson converted Ney Fabiano’s pass to give Victory a 43rd minute lead but United equalised almost immediately when Porter headed home a corner. The deadlock remained until Bas Van Den Brink was adjudged to have brought down Thompson in the box four minutes from time, allowing Kevin Muscat to seal the points from a retaken spot-kick, after he’d missed his initial effort.

Newcastle Jets 0 – Perth Glory 1 (A-League, September 25, 2009) Mile Sterjovski scored on a penalty in the 81st minute to give Perth a narrow win over the Newcastle Jets.