Columbus Crew win the Eastern Conference; Gamba Osaka are the Asian Champions League winners

Columbus Crew 2 – Chicago Fire 1 (MLS Eastern Conference final, November 13, 2008) Columbus saw off the favourites Chicago Fire thanks to an impressive second-half turnaround. Brian McBride had put the Fire ahead, but goals from Chad Marshall and Eddie Gaven secured the Eastern Conference title for the Crew and they will now face the New York Red Bulls or Real Salt Lake in the MLS Cup final on Saturday week. (Post-match celebrations here.)


Adelaide United 0 – Gamba Osaka 2 (Agg. 0-5) (Asian Champions League, November 12, 2008) (Longer highlights here.) Gamba went about building on their first-leg lead by moving 2-up on the night in the opening 16 minutes. Lucas killed the contest with an away goal in the first four minutes and then crushed Adelaide’s spirit by sending another ball into the back of the net 11 minutes later.

Click here for more Premier League betting tips