Club World Cup: Manchester United are English, European and World champions

Manchester United 1 – Liga de Quito 0 (Club World Cup final, December 21, 2008) (Longer highlights here.) Manchester United were fortunate not to fall behind to the Ecuadorians when Alejandro Manso fluffed an early chance from a low free-kick, missing the target from two yards out. But from then on the first half belonged to United, Rooney coming close on several occasions while Tevez had a header well saved. (First half highlights here.) After the break United were reduced to 10-men after Nemanja Vidic threw a loose elbow at Claudio Bieler. But United continued to dominate, and they were rewarded through Wayne Rooney’s deserved strike in the 73rd minute which he buried inside Cevallos’ far post.

Gamba Osaka 1 – Pachuca 0 (Club World Cup, December 21, 2008) Masata Yamazaki’s clinical strike on the half hour mark proved decisive, giving Gamba a deserved victory over the Mexicans to claim third spot in the tournament.


Sydney FC 1 – Perth Glory 4 (A-League, December 21, 2008) Goals to Adriano Pellegrino, Wayne Srhoj and own goals by Sydney defenders Antony Golec and Robbie Middleby helped Perth secure a comfortable victory. Stuart Musialik scored for the hosts, who were roundly booed by their own fans for their poor performance.