Barca crowned champions after Real Madrid lose at Villarreal

Villarreal 3 – Real Madrid 2 (La Liga, May 16, 2009) A wonderful flowing counter-attack from Villarreal tore through the Real team with Bobby Pires eventually planting the header to finish off the move. (First half highlights here.) Rafael van der Vaart drew Los Blancos level at the start of the second half, but after a sustained period of pressure on the hour mark Cani fired the Yellow Submarine backed in front. The match had a dramatic finish, Gonzalo Higuain equalised for Madrid with two minutes on the clock only for Joan Capdevila to claim a 90th minute winner for Villarreal.

Deportivo La Coruna 1 – Getafe 1 (La Liga, May 16, 2009) Roberto Soldado gave the visitors the lead but substitute Riki ensured the spoils were shared with a strike four minutes from time.

Osasuna 0 – Sevilla 0 (La Liga, May 16, 2009) A disappointing match saw Osasuna earn a point that keeps their head just above the water in the relegation battle.

Real Sociedad 1 – Albacete 0 (Segunda Division, May 16, 2009)

Real Zaragoza 3 – Celta Vigo 0 (Segunda Division, May 16, 2009)

Click here for more Premier League betting tips