Velez Sarsfield win the Argentinean Clausura; Nilmar grabs a double for Internacional

Velez Sarsfield 1 – Huracan 0 (Argentinean Clausura, July 5, 2009) After the final day Clausura deciding match had been stopped due to hail, Maxi Moralez won the title in the 83rd minute with a controversial goal after Larrivey had collided with Huracan keeper Gaston Monzon. Velez claimed their seventh league title.

San Martin 2 – Lanus 3 (Argentinean Clausura, July 5, 2009) A double from Lanus’ Jose Sand helped the striker end the Clausura as the top scorer with 13 goals. Lanus finished in third.

Gimnasia La Plata 2 – Gimnasia J 0 (Argentinean Clausura, July 5, 2009)


Nautico 0 – Internacional 2 (Campeonato Brasileiro, July 5, 2009) Alleged Manchester United target Nilmar grabbed both goals.

Coritiba 2 – Sao Paulo 0 (Campeonato Brasileiro, July 5, 2009) Champions Sao Paulo continue to struggle, Marcos Aurelio and Ariel claimed the goals and to compound the defeat Andre Dias was sent off for the away side just before the hour mark.

Athletico Mineiro 1 – Botafogo 1 (Campeonato Brasileiro, July 5, 2009) Atletico Mineiro went ahead after 15 minutes when Eder Luis headed past Botafogo’s Uruguayan keeper Juan Castillo. Visiting captain Juninho silenced the home fans with the equaliser eight minutes later when he blasted in a free-kick from outside the box.

Avai FC 0 – Palmeiras 3 (Campeonato Brasileiro, July 5, 2009)  Palmeiras beat bottom team Avai to climb to fourth with striker Obina scoring twice.

Goias 1 – Cruzeiro 0 (Campeonato Brasileiro, July 5, 2009)

Gremio 4 – Atletico Paranaense 1 (Campeonato Brasileiro, July 5, 2009)