Seven-high for Cruzeiro & Juan Aurich make history in the Copa Libertadores; Boca, Gimnasia & Hurcan all win in Argentina; Goals from Brazil

Cruzeiro 7 – Real Potosi 0 (Agg. 8-1) (Copa Libertadores Qualification, February 3, 2010) Wellington Paulista fired past both goalkeeper Mauro Machado and defender Alvaro Ricaldi to open the scoring in the 28th minute and then set up Thiago Ribeiro to widen the gap two minutes later. Kleber made it 3-nil in the 39th after being found by Jonathan, who added the fourth in first half injury time. Real Potosi forward Gerardo Yecerotte was sent off for fouling Kleber at the start of the second half and midfielder Gonzalo Galindo followed after a second yellow card in the 74th minute. Eliandro, Bernardo and Ecuadorian midfielder Joffre Guerron added further goals in the final four minutes of the game.

Estudiantes Tecos 1 – Juan Aurich 2 (Agg. 1-4) (Copa Libertadores Qualification, February 3, 2010) Luis Fernando Suarez’s team became the first Peruvian side to win a Copa Libertadores match in Mexico thanks to a 43rd-minute header by Luis Tejada and a 73rd minute strike from Ricardo Ciciliano. Juan Aurich defender Willy Alexander Rivas was sent off in the 65th minute and Fredy Bareiro reduced the deficit eleven minutes later, but the visitors celebrated reaching the group stage for only the second time.


Boca Juniors 3 – Lanus 1 (Clausura, February 3, 2010)

Gimnasia de La Plata 3 – Estudiantes 1 (Clausura, February 3, 2010) Denis Stracqualursi put the home side ahead on the stroke of halftime with a diving header after winger Diego Villar’s cross had taken a deflection off Veron. Stracqualursi doubled the lead against bitter city rivals Estudiantes 10 minutes from time, before  Juan Sebastian Veron pulled a late goal back forEstudiantes. An injury-time strike by substitute Juan Cuevas made the Argentine Clausura championship win safe for Gimnasia.

Huracan 2 – Newells Old Boys 1 (Clausura, February 3, 2010)


Ponte Preta 2 – Corinthians 1 (Campeonato Paulista, February 3, 2010)

Sao Paulo 3 – Sao Caetano 0 (Campeonato Paulista, February 3, 2010)

Flamengo 3 – Olaria 3 (Campeonato Carioca, February 3, 2010)