San Lorenzo, Boca Juniors & Tigre force the Argentine Apertura into a historic playoff for the championship

The Argentine Apertura championship ended in a three-way tie between San Lorenzo, Boca Juniors and Tigre. Goal difference is not used to decide the title and a three-way playoff will be held, the first in the tournament’s history, with matches on Dec. 17, 20 and 23.

Boca Juniors 3 – Colon 2 (Apertura, December 14, 2008) Boca went ahead in the 9th minute when Luciano Figueroa scored with a first-time shot from Vargas’s cross and Juan Roman Riquelme added a second four minutes later. The game seemed over when Figueroa scored again in the 27th minute but Colon fought back when Nicolas Torres scored with a shot from the edge of the penalty area three minutes before halftime. Lucas Valdermarin side-footed another goal in the 52nd minute after Javier Garcia failed to hold a cross but Boca held on to win.

Argentinos Jrs 0 – San Lorenzo 1 (Apertura, December 14, 2008) Gonzalo Bergessio pounced on a loose clearance and smashed a shot past Sebastian Torrico in the eighth minute.

Tigre 1 – Banfield 0 (Apertura, December 14, 2008) Tigre stayed in contention when playmaker Martin Morel scored his 13th goal of the tournament six minutes before halftime.

Godoy Cruz 1 – Rosario Central 0 (Apertura, December 14, 2008)

Lanus 1 – San Martin 0 (Apertura, December 14, 2008)

Independiente 1 – Arsenal Sarandi 2 (Apertura, December 14, 2008)