Flamengo win 1st Brazilian league title in 17 years; Coritiba fans riot as team are relegated; River Plate lose again

Flamengo 2 – Gremio 1 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009) Flamengo won the Brazilian championship after having to come from behind after Roberson had handed Gremio a 21st minute lead. David equalised for Fla on the half hour and Angelim grabbed the all important second midway through the second half as the Maracana erupted in a sea of red.

Botafogo 2 – Palmeiras 1 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009) Botafogo’s home win against Palmeiras was enough to keep them in the division for another season as they went ahead of Coritiba on the final day. Palmeiras did manage to pull one late goal back through Robert but this consolation strike will do little to appease their fans who have been subjected to yet another season of abject failure.

Internacional 4 – Santo Andre 1 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009)

Coritiba 1 – Fluminense 1 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009) Fluminense opened scoring in the 27th minute when Fred passed to Marquinho who fired the ball into to home team’s net. Coritiba responded quickly as their leading scorer Marcelinho Paraiba found a leaping Pereira who headed the ball in the goal in the 35th minute. Fans of Coritiba, who were relegated, invaded the pitch and attacked the referee and his linesmen, sparking a fracas with police who rushed to aid the match officials.

Sao Paulo 4 – Sport Recife 0 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009)

Vitoria 2 – Goias 2 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009)

Santos 1 – Cruzeiro 2 (Campeonato Brasileiro, December 6, 2009)


Velez Sarsfield 3 – River Plate 1 (Apertura, December 6, 2009) Maximiliano Moralez opened the scoring for Velez with a curled finish from a corner taken short in the 33rd minute, but a precise pass from Ariel Ortega freed Mauro Diaz to equalise in the 77th. Hernan Lopez bundled home in the 84th to put Velez back in front and Rolando Zarate scored with a header in stoppage time. The loss dropped River Plate to 15th as the club’s miserable season continues.

Lanus 2 – Gimnasia La Plata 0 (Apertura, December 6, 2009) Sebastian Blanco opened the scoring for mid-table Lanus against struggling Gimnasia La Plata with a solo effort in the 28th minute. Santiago Salcedo scored the second for Lanus in stoppage time.

Newells Old Boys 1 – Arsenal Sarandi 2 (Apertura, December 6, 2009) Franco Jara opened the scoring for Arsenal in the 14th minute when he cut into the box and curled the ball into the far corner of the net. Matias Perez doubled the lead in the 36th, racing on to a pass from Jara and rounding the goalkeeper to score. Antonio Boghossian pulled a goal back for Newell’s in the 53rd, but Arsenal held on to dent the home side’s title hopes.