Corinthians & Flamengo become Brazilian state champions

Corinthians 1 – Santos 1 (Agg. 4- 2) (Paulista A1 Play-Off, May 3, 2009) Striker Kleber Pereira put Santos ahead with a penalty, but defender Andre Santos equalised for Corinthians in the 33rd with first-time shot inside the area. Corinthians become the first unbeaten Sao Paulo state champion in 37 years.

Flamengo 2* – Botafogo 2 (Carioca Final, May 3, 2009) Kleberson put Flamengo ahead in front with a header in the 19th, and added to the lead with a booming free-kick in the 38th. Botafogo rallied with a well-struck free-kick by Juninho in the 61st, and two minutes later midfielder Tulio Souza equalised from close range to send the game to penalties. Goalkeeper Bruno was Flamengo’ hero, saving a penalty in regulation and two more in a shootout as Flamengo won their its third straight state title.