Banfield win their first ever title in Argentina

Boca Juniors 2 – Banfield 0 (Apertura, December 13, 2009) Argentine international Martin Palermo scored for Boca with a penalty in the eighth minute, and again in the 61st, but it mattered little to Banfield who claimed the championship for the first Argentine league title in its 113-year history.

Velez Sarfield 1 – Rosario Central 2 (Apertura, December 13, 2009)

Newells Old Boys 0 – San Lorenzo 2 (Apertura, December 13, 2009) Fabian Bordagaray scored in the 10th and 68th for San Lorenzo, sucker-punching Newells for who a victory combined with Banfield’s loss at La Bombonera would have given Newell’s its sixth championship.

Tigre 0 – River Plate 2 (Apertura, December 13, 2009) Gabriel Funes Mori scored at the 46th minute of the first half, and Diego Buonanotte scored at the 14th minute of the second half.