Rangers cruise to the SPL title after Celtic are held by Hearts; Yves Makalambay’s bizzarre blunder sends the Dons on their way to the Europa League

Dundee United 0 – Rangers 3 (SPL, May 24, 2009) Kyle Lafferty bundled in a Kris Boyd shot after six minutes to settle early nerves and Pedro Mendes grabbed the vital second with a powerful left-foot volley on the stroke of halftime. Kris Boyd, who earlier had a shot cleared off the line, converted a cross by Steven Whittaker after the break to kill off a United side who offered little threat and secure that SPL crown for Rangers.

Celtic 0 – Hearts 0 (SPL, May 24, 2009) Scott McDonald was guilty of lashing a shot over the Hearts bar midway through the first half. Minutes later McDonald forced a smart save from keeper Marian Kello, while Paul Hartley tried his luck from distance without success. Celtic were distraught at the final whistle as the title went to Ibrox.

Aberdeen 2 – Hibernian 1 (SPL, May 23, 2009) An outrageously bad error from Hibs keeper Yves Makalambay handed the hosts the lead, the goalie smacking a kick straight into the back of Lee Miller, with the ball rebounding into the empty net.Charlie Mulgrew put Aberdeen two ahead just before half-time with a sumptuous free-kick, before Derek Riordan rifled in a low shot to pull one back.

Motherwell 1 – Kilmarnock 2 (SPL, May 23, 2009) Brian McLean looked to have earned Well a point with a cool finish with 10 minutes left to cancel out Danny Invincibile’s opener. Mehdi Taouil scored a superb last-minute for Kille, showing off an array of skills and showboats on the way to claimed a last-gasp winner.