Man City win the battle but lose the war with Hamburg; Werder, Shakhtar & Dynamo Kiev comprise an all German-Ukrainian UEFA Cup semi-final line up

Manchester City 2 – Hamburg 1 (Agg. 3-4) (UEFA Cup, April 16, 2009) City got off to a terrible start conceding  inside 12 minutes, Jonathan Pitroipa sent over a low cross from the right that Richard Dunne failed to clear and when the ball eventually fell to Paolo Guerrero the striker slid in the opener. Back came the Citizens, Piotr Trochowski was harshly deemed to have handled a shot from Elano and the Brazilian converted the resulting spot-kick. City took the lead on the night in the 50th minute when Felipe Caicedo collected a pass from Stephen Ireland in the box and, after showing some twinkle-toes, the striker fired in the second for Sparky’s boys.

Udinese 3 – Werder Bremen 3 (Agg. 4-6) (UEFA Cup, April 16, 2009) A terrific 20-yard strike from Gokhan Inler fired Udinese in front, but Diego brought Werder back on level terms after capitalising on poor Italian defending to crash in the equaliser. Udinese struck back inside 120 seconds, Fabio Quagliarella nipping in to coolly claim the hosts’ second. And Fabio Quagliarella quickly went on to chalk up his brace after showing excellent chest control before firing in a low shot from outside the box. Werder rallied in the second half, Diego claimed his second of the night following up after a shot that rebounded off the bar. Diego then missed his opportunity to claim a hat-trick seeing his penalty well saved by Samir Handanovic, only for Claudio Pizarro to restore parity with a 73rd minute equaliser following a corner.

Marseille 1 – Shakhtar Donetsk 2 (Agg. 1-4) (UEFA Cup, April 16, 2009) (Longer highlights here.) The Stade Velodrome was stunned into silence on the half hour after Fernandinho started and finished the move to give Shakhtar the lead. Marseille levelled just before the break, Hatem Ben Arfa scoring at the back post after his initial header had been saved. In the dying seconds Shakhtar claimed a winner on the night through Adriano.

Dynamo Kiev 3 – PSG 0 (Agg. 3-0) (UEFA Cup, April 16, 2009) Dynamo took the lead after just four minutes when Guinea forward Ismael Bangoura scored with a low drive from just outside the box. PSG keeper Mickael Landreau then scored a horrific own goal to hand Kiev their second, the Parisan keeper managing to fist an up-and-under into his own net as he tried to claim a catch. Ognjen Vukojevic sealed the victory with a third on the hour.


Young Boys 0 – FC Basel 0 (Pens. 3-2) (Swiss Cup, April 16, 2009) Young Boys won their semi-final on penalties to set up a cup final date with Sion.


Nordvest 0 – FC Copenhagen 4 (Ekstra Bladet Cup, April 16, 2009) Danish second division oufit FC Nordvest failed to pull off the giant killing semi-final feat as goals from Niclas Jensen, Hjalte Bo Norregaard and a late Dame N’Doye double saw the SAS Ligaen leaders put one foot in the final ahead of next week’s return leg.


AIK Stockholm 0 – Malmo 1 (Allsvenskan, April 16, 2009) A several near misses in quick succession, Agon Mehmeti managed to net the winner for Malmo 15 minutes from time to send the visitors joint top on nine points after three games.

Helsingborg 1 – Hammarby 0 (Allsvenskan, April 16, 2009) Christoffer Andersson curled a corner kick past the Stockholm keeper Kristoffer Bjorklund in the 79th minute to maintain Helsingborg’s 100% record to the start of the season.

Trelleborg 3 – Gais 0 (Allsvenskan, April 16, 2009) Trelleborgs won 3-0 at home to GAIS with Marcus Pode (6), Andreas Drugge (49) and Kristian Haynes (89) on target. Both sides finished the game with 10 men with Tommy Lycen (88) sent off for GAIS, Thommie Persson followed for the hosts two minutes later.

Elfsborg 1 – Kalmar 1 (Allsvenskan, April 16, 2009) Reigning champions Kalmar are still yet to record a win, Kalmar had to rely on a 88th minute goal from substitute Daniel Mendes to earn that point after Emir Bajrami opened the scoring with 31 minutes gone.

Orgryte 0 – Orebro 1 (Allsvenskan, April 16, 2009) Orgryte are the only club without a point after they lost 1-0 at home to Orebro, for whom Kim Olsen scored after 28 minutes.


Deportivo Tachira 2 – Guarani 1 (Copa Libertadores, April 16, 2009) Julian Benitez opened the scoring for Guarani in the 18th minute with a swivel and shot from the edge of the box. Tachira started the second half on the attack, and substitute Del Valle equalised in the 68th minute with a stunning left-footed shot that flew into the top corner from 30-yards. Marlon Fernandez scored the winner six minutes later with a strike that was deflected twice on its way past Guarani goalkeeper.

Boyaca Chico 2 – Aurora 1 (Copa Libertadores, April 16, 2009) Miguel Caneo scored from a penalty to put Chico ahead in the 49th minute. Marco Perez increased the lead after the 69th minute off a Mahecha pass, before Jaime Cardozo capitalised on a lapse in the Chico defense three minutes before time to pull a goal for back for Aurora.

America de Cali 0 – Defensor Sporting 0 (Copa Libertadores, April 16, 2009) Defensor had a man sent off after 79 minutes against the Colombian side, but claimed a point to move within two of Independiente Medellin, with whom they have a qualification showdown in the final round of group matches.


Aguia De Maraba 2 – Fluminense 1 (Copa do Brasil, April 16, 2009) Aleilson needed only sixty seconds to put the hosts ahead before Sinesio’s penalty just before half-time doubled the advantage. Fluminense were reduced to 10 men in the second half after Thiago Neves was sent-off for chucking a ball at a ball-boy, but Carlos Alberto Parreira’s side pulled a goal back through Fred’s header.

Botafogo 2 – Americano 1 (Agg. 3-3) (Pens. 4-5) (Copa do Brasil, April 16, 2009) After winning the first leg 2-1 Americano were heading through with the second leg tied at 1-1 after Kieza had cancelled out Junhino’s opener until Maicosuel crucially put Botafogo 2-1 ahead in the second minute of injury time to force penalties. Maicosuel was the only player to miss in the shootout and Americano advanced to a meeting with either Ponte Preta or Figueirense.