Gold Cup: Mexico & Panama in ugly draw, Guadaloupe qualify; Europa League qualifiers & LDU de Quito win the Recopa Sudamericana

Mexico 1 – Panama 1 (Gold Cup, July 9, 2009) Tottenham attacker Giovani Dos Santos set up the opener for Mexico, tapped home by Miguel Sabagh. Panama responded with a goal from Blas Perez. The match had an ugly ending with three players sent-off, a confrontation between Mexico coach Javier Aguirre and a Panama player and fights in the stands.

Guadaloupe 2 – Nicaragua 0 (Gold Cup, July 9, 2009) Stephane Auvray and Ludovic Gotin goals sent Guadaloupe through to the semis.


IFK Gothenburg 3 – Gefle 1 (Svenska Cupen, July 9, 2009) IFK forward Tobias Hysen struck a brace early doors for the hosts. Gefle’s Amadou Jawo reduced the arrears with 15 minutes on teh clock before Nicklas Barkroth added a third for IFK at the death.


Rosenborg 3 – NSI Runavik 1 (Agg. 6-1) (Europa League qualifiers second-leg, July 9, 2009) The Icelanders opened with a terrific strike from Karoly Potemkin early doors before goals from Steffen Iversen, Didier Konan Ya (penalty), and Trond Olsen handed the Norwegians an easy victory.

FC Mika 1 – Helsingborg 1 (Agg. 2-4) (Europa League qualifiers second-leg, July 9, 2009)

Vllaznia 1 – Sligo Rovers 1 (Agg. 3-2) (Europa League qualifiers second-leg, July 9, 2009) Having won 2-1 in Ireland, Ndricim Shtubina’s goal made it 3-1 to the Albanians on aggregate but, after Vioresin Sinani’s dismissal on 79 minutes, Alan Keane scored for their visitors to set up a frantic seven minutes of added time, with Conor O’Grady sent off for Sligo at the death.

Renova 1 – Dinamo Minsk 1 (Agg. 2-3) (Europa League qualifiers second-leg, July 9, 2009)


Adelaide United 4 – South Australian XI 0 (Friendly, July 9, 2009) The Reds took the lead in the 28th minute through young striker Francesco Monterosso before midfield recruit Adam Hughes doubled the lead four minutes later. Hughes the teams’ third in the 72nd minute before Scott Jamieson capped off the win with a cracker from 30-yards five minutes from time.

Groningen 2 – Brondby 2 (Friendly, July 4, 2009)


LDU de Quito 3 – Internacional 0 (Agg. 4-0) (Recopa Sudamericana final second leg, July 9, 2009) LDU de Quito became the first Ecuadorian side to win the trophy with a comfortable two legged win. On the night Carlos Espinola, Claudio Bieler and Vera were the goal scorers.