Utrecht advance in the Dutch play-offs; Benfica crowned champions & Braga reach the Champions League

FC Groningen 0 – FC Utrecht 2 (Eredivisie Europa League play-offs, May 9, 2010) Ricky van Wolfswinkel opened the scoring on 38 minutes and the visitors were celebrating again when Nana Asara grabbed the second nine minutes from time.


Benfica 2 – Rio Ave 1 (Liga Sagres, May 9, 2010) Oscar Cardozo put Benfica ahead in only the third minute, and they should have been cruising once the visitors had Jose De Souza Wires sent off eight minutes later. But instead, Rio Ave were able to equalise through Ricardo Chaves in the 71st minute before Cardozo’s second won it seven minutes later. Benfica were crowned champions.

Nacional 1 – Braga 1 (Liga Sagres, May 9, 2010) The hosts opened the scoring in the 51st minute through Edgar, but Wason Renteria earned Braga a point six minutes later.

Vitoria Guimaraes 1 – Maritimo 2 (Liga Sagres, May 9, 2010) Valdomiro put the hosts in front after only 15 minutes, but Kleber equalised on the stroke of halftime, and then got a second to win it nine minutes from time, with Maritimo surviving the injury-time dismissal of goalkeeper Peterson Pecanha.